# Chemistry (bachelor's degree)

CIP 40.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/degrees/chemistry

## Earnings
- Graduates 4 years after finishing: median $66,486 across 209 colleges (middle half $60,318–$73,245); median federal debt $24,000
- All workers ages 25-34 with a bachelor's in Chemistry: median $62,968 (all bachelor's $62,049; high school $35,638; Census ACS 2020-2024)

## Jobs graduates hold (ages 25-34)
| Job | Share | U.S. median wage | Growth 2025-35 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chemists And Materials Scientists | 12% | $95,060 | 6.6% |
| Postsecondary Teachers | 5% | $82,250 | 6% |
| Physical Scientists, All Other | 5% | $122,570 | 2.1% |
| Other Managers | 3% | not reported | — |
| Other Life, Physical, And Social Science Technicians | 3% | not reported | — |
| Teaching Assistants | 3% | $37,010 | 0% |
| Software Developers | 2% | $135,980 | 10.2% |
| Clinical Laboratory Technologists And Technicians | 2% | $62,930 | 2.7% |

## By state
| State | Graduates 4 yrs (colleges) | Ages 25-34 (respondents) |
|---|---|---|
| AR | $55,467 (3) | — |
| AZ | $59,438 (4) | — |
| CA | $70,741 (23) | $73,098 (326) |
| CO | $65,414 (5) | — |
| CT | $84,609 (7) | — |
| FL | $57,550 (6) | $59,662 (100) |
| GA | $60,064 (7) | — |
| IL | $67,006 (7) | $67,006 (137) |
| IN | $63,004 (6) | — |
| KY | $65,038 (3) | — |
| MA | $79,665 (8) | — |
| MI | $65,787 (6) | — |
| MN | $65,644 (4) | — |
| MO | $60,950 (3) | — |
| NC | $63,288 (9) | $59,879 (112) |
| NJ | $73,823 (8) | $62,968 (111) |
| NY | $68,670 (14) | $65,989 (173) |
| OH | $57,615 (14) | — |
| OR | $78,417 (5) | — |
| PA | $70,206 (12) | — |
| SC | $60,324 (3) | — |
| TN | $64,361 (4) | — |
| TX | $63,619 (12) | $51,325 (184) |
| VA | $73,395 (7) | — |
| WA | $64,676 (5) | — |
| WI | $64,734 (5) | — |

## Top colleges by graduate earnings (published states)
1. University of California-Berkeley (CA): $82,386
2. California State University-Northridge (CA): $79,878
3. William & Mary (VA): $78,270
4. George Mason University (VA): $77,681
5. University of California-San Diego (CA): $77,249
6. University of California-Irvine (CA): $74,810
7. University of California-Santa Barbara (CA): $74,713
8. San Diego State University (CA): $74,676
9. James Madison University (VA): $74,631
10. California State University-Sacramento (CA): $74,430
11. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (VA): $73,395
12. California State University-Stanislaus (CA): $73,392

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#degrees

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0). O*NET data: CC BY 4.0, O*NET 31.0 (USDOL/ETA).
