# Winston-Salem State University (WSSU)

Public college in Winston-Salem, NC. IPEDS ID 199999.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/winston-salem-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/winston-salem-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 78% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,479 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 47%; beats 43% of NC colleges and 36% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $45,344; beats 43% of NC colleges and 26% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $18,447

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,463 |
| 30-48k | $12,412 |
| 48-75k | $14,681 |
| 75-110k | $18,813 |
| 110k+ | $21,405 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.38 years on average (33% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $45,344 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,463 | $50,208 | 4.2 years |
| 30-48k | $12,412 | $54,365 | 4.6 years |
| 48-75k | $14,681 | $64,303 | 5.4 years |
| 75-110k | $18,813 | $82,401 | 7.0 years |
| 110k+ | $21,405 | $93,754 | 7.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,147 in-state; about $33,803 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $6,126 in-state, $16,782 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,484; books: $1,690

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 430–520; SAT math: 400–500; ACT: 15–20 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,273 applicants, 6,357 admitted, 883 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 78%, ACT 15–20 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 69%, ACT 14–18 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (33 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $50,927 | $94,298 | $30,721 |
| Nursing | $72,639 | $84,952 | $24,082 |
| Accounting | $45,495 | $70,941 | $27,000 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $60,442 | $70,450 | $25,361 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $41,819 | $63,562 | not reported |
| Social Work | $29,617 | $53,028 | $28,537 |
| Finance | not reported | $52,895 | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | $31,564 | $52,130 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $43,077 | $51,520 | $30,000 |
| Biology | $30,719 | $47,527 | $27,446 |
| Marketing | not reported | $45,930 | not reported |
| Health Administration | $30,863 | $45,182 | $30,500 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $26,467 | $43,313 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $32,541 | $43,292 | $28,805 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $31,421 | $42,179 | $28,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $35,414 | $42,020 | $28,524 |
| Psychology | $25,637 | $40,797 | $27,375 |
| Sociology | not reported | $38,245 | not reported |
| Communications | $24,899 | $34,786 | $27,096 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $28,557 | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Gerontology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | $25,653 | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | $26,725 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $86,120 (Winston-Salem, NC), $84,350 (NC), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $82,050 (Winston-Salem, NC), $98,560 (NC), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
