# Wingate University

Private nonprofit college in Wingate, NC. IPEDS ID 199962.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/wingate-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/wingate-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 91% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $20,748 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 46%; beats 41% of NC colleges and 35% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,649; beats 74% of NC colleges and 48% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,772 |
| 30-48k | $18,092 |
| 48-75k | $18,865 |
| 75-110k | $21,651 |
| 110k+ | $24,759 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.27 years on average (36% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,649 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,772 | $80,156 | 4.2 years |
| 30-48k | $18,092 | $77,253 | 4.0 years |
| 48-75k | $18,865 | $80,554 | 4.2 years |
| 75-110k | $21,651 | $92,450 | 4.8 years |
| 110k+ | $24,759 | $105,721 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $57,473
- Tuition and fees: $41,636
- Housing and meals: $10,676; books: $2,250

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 510–610; SAT math: 500–600; ACT: 18–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 21,210 applicants, 18,027 admitted, 708 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 91%, ACT 18–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 85%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (34 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | $53,681 | $78,487 | $23,751 |
| Accounting | $51,437 | $73,805 | $25,000 |
| Marketing | $36,777 | $72,630 | $23,100 |
| Nursing | $68,877 | $68,636 | $27,000 |
| Finance | $46,591 | $67,315 | $22,500 |
| Business Administration | $42,476 | $67,082 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $39,498 | $62,075 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | $61,525 | not reported |
| Biology | $27,729 | $58,623 | $27,000 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $40,438 | $54,129 | $25,400 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $28,551 | $52,822 | $25,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $40,130 | $50,391 | $25,925 |
| Psychology | $26,988 | $45,795 | $25,500 |
| Human Services | $32,843 | $45,558 | $27,000 |
| Communications | not reported | $41,013 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $41,245 | $38,993 | $26,614 |
| Agriculture / Veterinary Preparatory Programs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy and Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $62,060 (Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC), $61,720 (NC), $57,510 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $90,620 (Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC), $84,350 (NC), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
