# Wheaton College (Massachusetts)

Private nonprofit college in Norton, MA. IPEDS ID 168281.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/wheaton-college-massachusetts · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/wheaton-college-massachusetts.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 68% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $29,822 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 73%; beats 59% of MA colleges and 83% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $67,725; beats 60% of MA colleges and 83% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $23,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,076 |
| 30-48k | $21,528 |
| 48-75k | $28,299 |
| 75-110k | $28,639 |
| 110k+ | $33,956 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.11 years on average (69% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $67,725 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $20,076 | $82,512 | 3.0 years |
| 30-48k | $21,528 | $88,480 | 3.2 years |
| 48-75k | $28,299 | $116,309 | 4.2 years |
| 75-110k | $28,639 | $117,706 | 4.2 years |
| 110k+ | $33,956 | $139,559 | 5.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $79,311
- Tuition and fees: $63,960
- Housing and meals: $15,430; books: $940

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 640–720; SAT math: 580–670; ACT: 29–33 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,702 applicants, 3,354 admitted, 522 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 68%, ACT 29–33 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 71%, ACT 29–33 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (39 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration | $46,139 | $78,769 | $27,000 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | $64,701 | $25,000 |
| Neuroscience | $39,842 | $61,194 | $27,000 |
| English | $29,221 | $59,381 | $26,748 |
| Psychology | $34,746 | $54,483 | $27,000 |
| Film and Photography | $28,498 | $54,106 | $24,250 |
| Political Science | $32,669 | $53,285 | $26,298 |
| History | $32,896 | $48,095 | $25,990 |
| Biology | $26,661 | $43,012 | $24,000 |
| Studio Art | $28,574 | $38,389 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy and Religious Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | $29,953 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $100,360 (Providence-Warwick, RI-MA), $134,720 (MA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $56,850 (Providence-Warwick, RI-MA), $62,070 (MA), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
