# Westfield State University

Public college in Westfield, MA. IPEDS ID 168263.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/westfield-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/westfield-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 81% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,721 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 54%; beats 26% of MA colleges and 51% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $57,346; beats 36% of MA colleges and 63% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,751 |
| 30-48k | $11,517 |
| 48-75k | $14,199 |
| 75-110k | $18,201 |
| 110k+ | $23,286 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.22 years on average (44% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $57,346 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,751 | $45,369 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $11,517 | $48,602 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $14,199 | $59,920 | 3.4 years |
| 75-110k | $18,201 | $76,808 | 4.4 years |
| 110k+ | $23,286 | $98,267 | 5.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $27,649 in-state; about $33,729 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $12,179 in-state, $18,259 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $13,510; books: $1,140

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,273 applicants, 5,065 admitted, 712 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 81%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 81%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2024-25 (Fall 2024)
- Very important: none; important: none; considered: none
- Early decision: not reported; early action: yes; waitlist: no
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 66.05% of need met; 58 of 492 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 81 students, average $3,082
- Source: https://www.westfield.ma.edu/documents/cds-2024-2025-template-completepdf

## Majors (36 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $66,349 | $95,932 | $27,000 |
| Nursing | $81,136 | $93,248 | $26,900 |
| Economics | $41,085 | $72,539 | $25,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $42,228 | $67,363 | $24,422 |
| Business | $41,862 | $66,889 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $42,776 | $64,904 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $36,577 | $60,025 | $24,783 |
| City / Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | $32,802 | $59,524 | $23,628 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $40,405 | $58,290 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $32,134 | $56,349 | $26,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $32,456 | $55,828 | $27,000 |
| Social Work | $38,596 | $55,699 | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | $47,922 | $54,980 | not reported |
| Psychology | $31,179 | $54,484 | $27,000 |
| Special Education | $40,429 | $53,678 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $35,004 | $51,730 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $35,809 | $51,547 | $23,913 |
| History | $24,879 | $51,439 | $25,000 |
| English | not reported | $51,322 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $35,090 | $51,049 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | $33,440 | $43,248 | $27,000 |
| Music | not reported | $39,692 | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | $52,728 | not reported | $20,381 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage $107,210 (Springfield, MA), $134,720 (MA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $83,050 (Springfield, MA), $78,940 (MA), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
