# West Virginia University

Public college in Morgantown, WV. IPEDS ID 238032.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/west-virginia-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/west-virginia-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 89% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,634 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 65%; beats 89% of WV colleges and 69% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $55,939; beats 82% of WV colleges and 59% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,450 |
| 30-48k | $12,501 |
| 48-75k | $14,179 |
| 75-110k | $18,710 |
| 110k+ | $20,273 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.33 years on average (43% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $55,939 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,695 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WV (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,450 | $40,919 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $12,501 | $54,129 | 2.3 years |
| 48-75k | $14,179 | $61,395 | 2.6 years |
| 75-110k | $18,710 | $81,014 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $20,273 | $87,782 | 3.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $26,415 in-state; about $44,919 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,104 in-state, $28,608 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $13,876; books: $950

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 520–620; SAT math: 490–600; ACT: 20–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 19,857 applicants, 17,129 admitted, 4,377 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 89%, ACT 20–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 86%, ACT 20–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (89 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | $85,897 | $109,619 | $24,903 |
| Electrical Engineering | $79,662 | $99,542 | $22,500 |
| Industrial Engineering | $75,606 | $99,180 | $25,207 |
| Computer Engineering | $76,314 | $99,048 | $24,500 |
| Computer Science | $74,159 | $98,277 | $23,026 |
| Chemical Engineering | $69,875 | $96,503 | $22,843 |
| Management Information Systems | $62,127 | $95,324 | $21,501 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | $72,210 | $94,750 | $27,242 |
| Petroleum Engineering | $68,913 | $91,142 | $26,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $71,504 | $90,461 | $26,242 |
| Nursing | $71,298 | $83,750 | $26,000 |
| Civil Engineering | $67,062 | $82,117 | $24,291 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $65,223 | $79,805 | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | $77,144 | not reported |
| Finance | $48,645 | $76,959 | $25,000 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $57,102 | $76,662 | $26,121 |
| Accounting | $51,824 | $76,135 | $23,903 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $63,522 | $76,034 | $26,050 |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | $47,232 | $75,022 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $49,634 | $73,646 | $25,242 |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | $70,646 | not reported |
| Physiology | $24,463 | $70,165 | $21,250 |
| Marketing | $42,058 | $69,357 | $23,852 |
| Hospitality Management | $30,363 | $68,473 | $26,000 |
| Economics | not reported | $68,380 | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | $68,161 | $23,742 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $36,382 | $66,798 | $23,250 |
| Agricultural Business | $37,779 | $66,022 | $24,070 |
| Business | $42,298 | $65,372 | $26,432 |
| Public Health | $37,256 | $64,888 | $24,000 |
| Forestry | $43,228 | $64,568 | $23,371 |
| Security / Homeland Security | $44,255 | $62,455 | $24,324 |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | $38,660 | $61,411 | $25,000 |
| Journalism | $34,075 | $58,454 | $24,250 |
| Biology | $25,086 | $57,486 | $23,090 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,145 | $57,359 | $25,000 |
| Geography | $34,435 | $57,075 | $23,089 |
| Philosophy | not reported | $57,041 | not reported |
| Political Science | $30,286 | $56,969 | $23,250 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $34,883 | $56,132 | $25,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $39,847 | $55,669 | $25,500 |
| Sociology | $34,063 | $54,596 | $24,223 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $54,252 | $23,920 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $30,002 | $53,836 | $25,000 |
| Animal Sciences | $31,103 | $52,548 | $20,500 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,214 | $51,537 | $24,621 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $27,547 | $51,403 | $25,242 |
| Psychology | $28,879 | $51,263 | $23,328 |
| Plant Sciences | $37,454 | $50,249 | $25,000 |
| Social Work | $34,344 | $50,130 | $25,000 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $32,306 | $48,893 | $25,242 |
| Linguistics | $32,684 | $48,331 | $20,916 |
| Music | $26,011 | $48,226 | $25,000 |
| History | $24,215 | $45,388 | $22,250 |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management | $29,470 | $45,348 | $24,500 |
| Studio Art | $23,043 | $44,180 | $24,121 |
| English | $23,182 | $41,920 | $21,250 |
| Theatre | not reported | $40,942 | $19,687 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | $38,649 | not reported |
| Agriculture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Systems Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | $21,500 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | $36,891 | not reported | $24,356 |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | $39,229 | not reported | $30,000 |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Journalism → Reporter / journalist: median wage not reported (Morgantown, WV), $35,280 (WV), $62,200 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $80,130 (Morgantown, WV), $80,130 (WV), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
