# West Texas A & M University (WTAMU)

Public college in Canyon, TX. IPEDS ID 229814.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/west-texas-a-and-m-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/west-texas-a-and-m-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 99% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,487 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 74% of TX colleges and 52% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $50,741; beats 46% of TX colleges and 43% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,620

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,525 |
| 30-48k | $17,218 |
| 48-75k | $19,268 |
| 75-110k | $22,454 |
| 110k+ | $23,439 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.8 years on average (14% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $50,741 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,525 | $79,320 | 4.6 years |
| 30-48k | $17,218 | $82,646 | 4.8 years |
| 48-75k | $19,268 | $92,486 | 5.4 years |
| 75-110k | $22,454 | $107,779 | 6.3 years |
| 110k+ | $23,439 | $112,507 | 6.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,482 in-state; about $25,377 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,101 in-state, $10,996 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,449; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 480–590; SAT math: 470–580; ACT: 18–23 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,784 applicants, 4,657 admitted, 1,266 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 99%, ACT 18–23 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 97%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: class rank, gpa; important: rigor, test scores; considered: recommendations
- Early decision: no; early action: no; waitlist: no
- Average high school GPA of enrolled first-years: 3.61
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 63.6% of need met; 12 of 771 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 480 students, average $2,718
- Source: https://www.wtamu.edu/_files/docs/academics/Institutional%20Research/CDS.pdf

## Majors (54 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical Engineering | $78,028 | $93,938 | $21,125 |
| Nursing | $74,531 | $79,583 | $22,884 |
| Public Administration | not reported | $74,261 | $24,798 |
| Business Administration | $43,492 | $71,979 | $22,070 |
| Finance | $42,650 | $66,534 | $20,993 |
| Accounting | $46,034 | $61,262 | $19,651 |
| Business | $43,167 | $60,430 | $23,383 |
| Marketing | $40,465 | $58,303 | $23,050 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,978 | $58,011 | $24,365 |
| Health Sciences | $26,513 | $51,397 | $23,250 |
| Agricultural Business | $52,749 | $51,103 | $19,125 |
| Agriculture | $45,300 | $50,396 | $13,460 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $40,793 | $49,618 | $23,250 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $46,614 | $49,241 | $24,804 |
| Music | $50,881 | $48,656 | $24,750 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $40,313 | $48,492 | $22,500 |
| Theatre | $25,036 | $47,175 | $22,328 |
| Communications | not reported | $47,009 | not reported |
| Psychology | $30,101 | $45,193 | $19,619 |
| English | $32,172 | $44,920 | $21,839 |
| Social Work | $34,664 | $44,174 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $28,507 | $43,403 | $23,125 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $30,615 | $40,183 | $17,750 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | $31,362 | $37,996 | $21,559 |
| Agricultural Public Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Animal Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Plant Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $35,658 | not reported | $21,419 |
| Computer Science | $88,391 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | not reported | not reported | $21,406 |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $41,872 | not reported | $28,475 |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $86,850 (Amarillo, TX), $95,970 (TX), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $82,000 (Amarillo, TX), $101,400 (TX), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
