# Wellesley College

Private nonprofit college in Wellesley, MA. IPEDS ID 168218.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/wellesley-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/wellesley-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 14% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $25,496 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 92%; beats 88% of MA colleges and 97% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $84,803; beats 81% of MA colleges and 95% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $8,700

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,546 |
| 30-48k | $2,836 |
| 48-75k | $6,587 |
| 75-110k | $11,551 |
| 110k+ | $54,188 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.14 years on average (80% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $84,803 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,546 | $10,540 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $2,836 | $11,741 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $6,587 | $27,270 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $11,551 | $47,821 | 1.1 years |
| 110k+ | $54,188 | $224,338 | 5.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $86,290
- Tuition and fees: $67,176
- Housing and meals: $19,920; books: $800

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 730–770; SAT math: 730–790; ACT: 33–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 8,184 applicants, 1,138 admitted, 573 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 14%, ACT 33–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 14%, ACT 33–35 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (39 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $100,644 | $177,213 | $13,350 |
| Economics | $86,367 | $121,787 | $11,190 |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | $98,816 | not reported |
| Political Science | $50,214 | $72,830 | $12,500 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $36,776 | $65,036 | $10,152 |
| English | $38,376 | $59,865 | $12,000 |
| Biology | $36,621 | $58,285 | $10,159 |
| Psychology (Research) | $36,283 | $52,538 | $12,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $37,724 | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | $43,231 | not reported | $9,525 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $43,926 | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | $44,687 | not reported | $8,300 |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | $31,973 | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $166,090 (Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH), $165,210 (MA), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $61,610 (Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH), $62,070 (MA), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
