# Washington University in St Louis

Private nonprofit college in St. Louis, MO. IPEDS ID 179867.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/washington-university-in-st-louis · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/washington-university-in-st-louis.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 12% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,786 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 94%; beats 98% of MO colleges and 98% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $86,182; beats 98% of MO colleges and 95% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,716 |
| 30-48k | $1,928 |
| 48-75k | $5,578 |
| 75-110k | $12,603 |
| 110k+ | $42,170 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.09 years on average (87% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $86,182 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MO (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $1,716 | $7,018 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $1,928 | $7,886 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $5,578 | $22,814 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $12,603 | $51,546 | 1.0 years |
| 110k+ | $42,170 | $172,475 | 3.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $88,488
- Tuition and fees: $65,790
- Housing and meals: $20,778; books: $1,264

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 730–770; SAT math: 770–800; ACT: 33–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 32,240 applicants, 3,855 admitted, 1,828 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 12%, ACT 33–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 12%, ACT 33–35 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (88 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finance | $102,814 | $185,551 | $19,250 |
| Computer Science | $110,302 | $177,066 | $15,500 |
| Business Economics | $106,701 | $162,355 | not reported |
| Systems Engineering | $83,874 | $119,297 | $20,500 |
| Chemical Engineering | $69,801 | $107,843 | $19,500 |
| Economics | $66,325 | $102,439 | $14,110 |
| Marketing | $70,819 | $100,489 | $17,500 |
| Mathematics | $79,799 | $98,497 | $18,700 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,057 | $95,965 | $19,000 |
| Psychology | not reported | $91,787 | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | $90,778 | $18,500 |
| Psychology (Research) | $37,377 | $75,261 | $15,450 |
| Anthropology | $34,489 | $71,018 | $15,000 |
| Biology | $24,925 | $68,359 | $13,500 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $33,615 | $67,771 | $19,089 |
| Cognitive Science | $30,996 | $67,212 | $17,500 |
| International / Global Studies | $38,854 | $66,498 | $20,250 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | $30,716 | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $16,635 | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | $21,250 |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Iranian / Persian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | $14,000 |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | $17,360 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Archeology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer Science → Software developer: median wage $129,030 (St. Louis, MO-IL), $126,120 (MO), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Finance → Financial analyst: median wage $99,950 (St. Louis, MO-IL), $98,420 (MO), $102,740 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
