# Washington College

Private nonprofit college in Chestertown, MD. IPEDS ID 164216.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/washington-college · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/washington-college.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 57% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $27,898 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 65%; beats 50% of MD colleges and 70% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $65,518; beats 72% of MD colleges and 80% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $21,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $17,804 |
| 30-48k | $22,722 |
| 48-75k | $25,068 |
| 75-110k | $26,760 |
| 110k+ | $33,980 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.11 years on average (66% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $65,518 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $17,804 | $73,174 | 2.5 years |
| 30-48k | $22,722 | $93,387 | 3.2 years |
| 48-75k | $25,068 | $103,029 | 3.6 years |
| 75-110k | $26,760 | $109,984 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $33,980 | $139,658 | 4.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $73,314
- Tuition and fees: $55,326
- Housing and meals: $15,814; books: $900

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 580–710; SAT math: 560–680; ACT: 27–31 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,539 applicants, 1,664 admitted, 230 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 57%, ACT 27–31 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 66%, ACT 25–30 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (31 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Economics | $50,835 | $75,674 | $27,000 |
| Business | $48,699 | $74,880 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $36,741 | $69,018 | $24,721 |
| International Relations | not reported | $67,983 | not reported |
| Biology | $34,553 | $55,165 | $27,000 |
| Sociology | not reported | $53,799 | $27,000 |
| History | not reported | $51,167 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $22,324 | $46,831 | $26,529 |
| English | not reported | $46,305 | $26,955 |
| Psychology | $34,490 | $44,955 | $27,000 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $121,680 (MD), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage not reported (metro), $52,900 (MD), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
