# Virginia Union University (VUU)

Private nonprofit college in Richmond, VA. IPEDS ID 234164.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/virginia-union-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/virginia-union-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 98% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,235 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 34%; beats 9% of VA colleges and 17% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $38,275; beats 5% of VA colleges and 9% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $22,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,424 |
| 30-48k | $12,372 |
| 48-75k | $14,420 |
| 75-110k | $21,362 |
| 110k+ | $18,301 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $29,075
- Tuition and fees: $17,450
- Housing and meals: $9,552; books: $0

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 450–475; SAT math: 400–410; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,771 applicants, 2,708 admitted, 415 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 98%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 98%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### State-published GPA and test ranges (middle 50%)
- Entering Fall 2026: GPA (basis not stated) 2.49–3.36; SAT 820–950; ACT —; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2026-27)
- Entering Fall 2025: GPA (basis not stated) 2.2–2.99; SAT 840–990; ACT —; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2025-26)
- Check chances: https://educationguide.com/chances?school=virginia-union-university

## Majors (28 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | not reported | $64,924 | $35,000 |
| Psychology | $21,626 | $50,826 | $27,000 |
| Criminology | $30,291 | $49,024 | $31,450 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $33,126 | $45,214 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $18,076 | $42,376 | $31,000 |
| Biology | $32,986 | $40,032 | $33,700 |
| Business Administration | $19,354 | $39,251 | $29,000 |
| Social Work | not reported | $38,872 | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English Language and Literature / Letters, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $132,120 (Richmond, VA), $136,460 (VA), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $65,210 (Richmond, VA), $53,360 (VA), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
