# Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Public college in Blacksburg, VA. IPEDS ID 233921.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 55% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $24,953 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 86%; beats 88% of VA colleges and 94% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $81,698; beats 95% of VA colleges and 93% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,689 |
| 30-48k | $11,670 |
| 48-75k | $17,894 |
| 75-110k | $25,835 |
| 110k+ | $34,201 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $36,951 in-state; about $58,767 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $15,948 in-state, $37,764 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $14,888; books: $2,620

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 640–710; SAT math: 640–740; ACT: 28–32 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 47,208 applicants, 26,923 admitted, 7,196 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 55%, ACT 28–32 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 57%, ACT 27–32 (IPEDS Admissions)

### State-published GPA and test ranges (middle 50%)
- Entering Fall 2026: GPA (basis not stated) 3.87–4.32; SAT 1280–1430; ACT 28–33; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2026-27)
- Entering Fall 2025: GPA (basis not stated) 3.89–4.33; SAT 1270–1430; ACT 28–32; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2025-26)
- Check chances: https://educationguide.com/chances?school=virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university

## Majors (72 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $96,432 | $144,103 | $20,500 |
| Computer Engineering | $86,636 | $122,026 | $26,000 |
| Applied Mathematics | $82,275 | $117,990 | $20,500 |
| Industrial Engineering | $82,437 | $116,641 | $22,870 |
| Management Science / Analytics | $77,877 | $108,726 | $21,700 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | $76,856 | $106,633 | $26,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | $82,382 | $106,011 | $25,350 |
| Electrical Engineering | $83,364 | $104,839 | $25,849 |
| Finance | $66,601 | $102,902 | $22,500 |
| Construction Engineering | $82,627 | $102,699 | $26,698 |
| Engineering Mechanics | $81,735 | $101,509 | $27,500 |
| Accounting | $70,303 | $99,528 | $18,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $78,280 | $96,376 | $23,000 |
| Real Estate | $68,078 | $95,576 | $27,000 |
| Business Economics | not reported | $95,271 | not reported |
| Construction Management | $76,246 | $95,165 | $27,000 |
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | $74,793 | $94,397 | $20,907 |
| Statistics | $62,598 | $94,300 | $15,500 |
| Physics | $58,061 | $92,746 | $27,000 |
| Economics | $56,261 | $92,653 | $22,500 |
| Materials Engineering | $66,888 | $90,828 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Engineering | $75,434 | $88,315 | $26,625 |
| Civil Engineering | $74,285 | $88,142 | $25,760 |
| Marketing | $56,417 | $86,338 | $22,500 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | $56,513 | $81,618 | $23,750 |
| Food Science and Technology | $56,274 | $80,161 | $26,875 |
| Business Administration | $60,678 | $80,023 | $22,535 |
| Political Science | $42,114 | $75,687 | $24,250 |
| Architecture | $56,708 | $75,074 | $29,000 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | $25,414 | $74,005 | $25,000 |
| Chemistry | $45,513 | $73,395 | $26,497 |
| Hospitality Management | $45,771 | $72,817 | $25,680 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $46,761 | $72,213 | $25,802 |
| International Relations | $44,638 | $71,988 | $21,500 |
| Linguistics | $37,389 | $68,263 | $22,500 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | $43,494 | $67,892 | $23,500 |
| Mathematics | $55,731 | $67,763 | $23,250 |
| Biochemistry | $35,927 | $67,621 | $24,125 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | not reported | $67,253 | $24,135 |
| Public Policy Analysis | not reported | $66,177 | $15,468 |
| Communications | $44,309 | $66,106 | $20,613 |
| Geography | $39,328 | $65,259 | $20,500 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences Business Services | $43,603 | $65,248 | $22,875 |
| English | $39,155 | $64,225 | $21,625 |
| Forestry | $45,817 | $64,204 | $20,919 |
| Sociology | $38,768 | $63,654 | $22,859 |
| Agricultural Business | $48,557 | $62,398 | $22,999 |
| Biology | $28,239 | $61,703 | $20,500 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | $59,969 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $39,361 | $59,868 | $26,408 |
| History | $33,319 | $59,819 | $20,499 |
| Neuroscience | $29,081 | $59,714 | $23,000 |
| Studio Art | $36,927 | $58,652 | $26,323 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $33,654 | $58,340 | $21,500 |
| Plant Sciences | $42,861 | $56,630 | $20,687 |
| Psychology | $33,733 | $56,365 | $22,151 |
| Agriculture | not reported | $53,568 | not reported |
| Music | not reported | $48,028 | $27,000 |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management | $25,563 | $47,496 | $21,500 |
| Animal Sciences | $28,729 | $47,224 | $22,631 |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $56,797 | not reported | $30,750 |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | $36,557 | not reported | $24,637 |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Management Science / Analytics → Operations research analyst: median wage not reported (Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA), $129,460 (VA), $88,940 (U.S.)
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $98,400 (Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA), $104,180 (VA), $104,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
