# Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology

Private nonprofit college in Flushing, NY. IPEDS ID 188340. Bachelor's & associate degrees (38% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/vaughn-college-of-aeronautics-and-technology · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/vaughn-college-of-aeronautics-and-technology.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: not reported (latest, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $39,986 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 39%; beats 19% of NY colleges and 23% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $64,973; beats 62% of NY colleges and 80% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $38,079 |
| 30-48k | $40,001 |
| 48-75k | $41,305 |
| 75-110k | $43,077 |
| 110k+ | $43,008 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.6 years on average (22% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $64,973 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $38,079 | $175,163 | 5.8 years |
| 30-48k | $40,001 | $184,005 | 6.1 years |
| 48-75k | $41,305 | $190,003 | 6.3 years |
| 75-110k | $43,077 | $198,154 | 6.5 years |
| 110k+ | $43,008 | $197,837 | 6.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $47,346
- Tuition and fees: $29,810
- Housing and meals: $14,180; books: $1,900

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, latest)

## Majors (9 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanical Engineering | $74,472 | $103,254 | $27,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $51,567 | $85,222 | $27,250 |
| Air Transportation | $32,591 | $76,979 | $24,500 |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $109,990 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $102,440 (NY), $104,110 (U.S.)
- Computer Science → Software developer: median wage $166,830 (New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ), $166,180 (NY), $135,980 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
