# University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Public college in Oshkosh, WI. IPEDS ID 240365.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-wisconsin-oshkosh · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-wisconsin-oshkosh.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $14,305 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 46%; beats 29% of WI colleges and 35% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $55,548; beats 60% of WI colleges and 57% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,236 |
| 30-48k | $9,654 |
| 48-75k | $11,601 |
| 75-110k | $16,853 |
| 110k+ | $19,223 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.61 years on average (28% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $55,548 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $37,564 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,236 | $42,578 | 2.4 years |
| 30-48k | $9,654 | $44,505 | 2.5 years |
| 48-75k | $11,601 | $53,481 | 3.0 years |
| 75-110k | $16,853 | $77,692 | 4.3 years |
| 110k+ | $19,223 | $88,618 | 4.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $19,652 in-state; about $27,566 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,532 in-state, $16,446 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $8,940; books: $1,000

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 18–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,082 applicants, 7,872 admitted, 1,751 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT 18–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 87%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (72 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $76,187 | $107,771 | not reported |
| Finance | $58,085 | $79,927 | $24,065 |
| Economics | $57,663 | $79,267 | $25,000 |
| Business Administration | $57,809 | $79,228 | $25,000 |
| Accounting | $60,885 | $79,217 | $21,541 |
| Nursing | $71,633 | $77,490 | $25,000 |
| Business | $57,853 | $73,138 | not reported |
| Marketing | $51,607 | $69,383 | $22,082 |
| Human Resources | $55,263 | $67,766 | $20,000 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | $54,213 | $66,875 | $23,500 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $58,894 | $66,541 | $25,500 |
| Communications | $40,673 | $64,103 | $26,534 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $46,039 | $60,672 | $24,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $39,394 | $58,489 | $25,000 |
| Physiology | $35,727 | $56,407 | $24,682 |
| International Relations | $36,726 | $54,506 | $25,450 |
| Biology | $38,530 | $53,507 | $24,250 |
| Psychology | $35,139 | $51,721 | $26,000 |
| Social Work | $43,948 | $51,044 | $26,750 |
| Studio Art | $38,585 | $50,189 | $27,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $50,438 | $49,759 | $31,154 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $44,161 | $49,676 | $28,500 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $26,494 | $49,639 | $24,637 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | $49,074 | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | $48,935 | not reported |
| English | $34,633 | $48,178 | $26,000 |
| Special Education | $44,945 | $47,828 | $27,000 |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | $35,161 | $46,812 | $26,449 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $44,453 | $45,902 | $27,000 |
| City / Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | $46,661 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Control Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $26,584 | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cell / Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Fire Protection | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | $21,653 |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | $42,366 | not reported | $25,015 |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $63,544 | not reported | not reported |
| History | $32,259 | not reported | $21,906 |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $87,340 (Oshkosh-Neenah, WI), $95,530 (WI), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $60,150 (Oshkosh-Neenah, WI), $61,210 (WI), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
