# University of Virginia

Public college in Charlottesville, VA. IPEDS ID 234076.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-virginia-main-campus · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-virginia-main-campus.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 17% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,565 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 96%; beats 95% of VA colleges and 99% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $86,863; beats 98% of VA colleges and 95% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,153

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,174 |
| 30-48k | $9,696 |
| 48-75k | $13,283 |
| 75-110k | $20,822 |
| 110k+ | $35,402 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $39,926 in-state; about $77,635 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $21,803 in-state, $59,512 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $13,940; books: $1,480

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 700–760; SAT math: 710–780; ACT: 32–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 56,528 applicants, 9,533 admitted, 3,966 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 17%, ACT 32–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 17%, ACT 32–34 (IPEDS Admissions)

### State-published GPA and test ranges (middle 50%)
- Entering Fall 2026: GPA (basis not stated) 4.3–4.5; SAT 1420–1510; ACT 32–35; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2026-27)
- Entering Fall 2025: GPA (basis not stated) 4.2–4.5; SAT 1410–1510; ACT 32–35; CLT — (B10 Admissions: First Time Freshman Profile, 2025-26)
- Check chances: https://educationguide.com/chances?school=university-of-virginia-main-campus

## Majors (64 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $118,232 | $148,175 | $16,875 |
| Systems Engineering | $91,178 | $144,830 | $19,500 |
| Business | not reported | $142,113 | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $98,067 | $142,041 | $17,783 |
| Management Science / Analytics | $93,565 | $139,095 | $18,347 |
| Economics | $74,958 | $110,773 | $19,000 |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | $65,688 | $109,851 | $20,362 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $66,823 | $109,551 | $18,400 |
| Statistics | $73,991 | $108,532 | $18,500 |
| Chemical Engineering | $85,772 | $105,724 | $17,733 |
| Engineering | not reported | $101,078 | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | $82,135 | $98,871 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | $74,366 | $94,881 | $24,250 |
| Civil Engineering | $74,772 | $91,651 | $14,903 |
| Mathematics | $60,784 | $91,236 | $19,500 |
| Nursing | $75,220 | $86,653 | $15,130 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | $77,922 | $85,681 | $14,214 |
| Cognitive Science | $27,628 | $83,554 | $16,162 |
| International Relations | $46,870 | $82,991 | $20,672 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $27,810 | $81,110 | $23,250 |
| Political Science | $45,875 | $78,310 | $18,015 |
| Communications | $47,368 | $76,243 | $21,230 |
| International / Global Studies | $42,197 | $76,044 | $19,500 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $34,533 | $71,638 | $19,500 |
| History | $34,028 | $71,187 | $19,352 |
| Biology | $23,395 | $70,240 | $19,500 |
| Architecture | $51,740 | $70,213 | $23,965 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $70,141 | $19,282 |
| Sociology | $45,786 | $68,538 | $20,500 |
| Chemistry | $30,599 | $68,174 | $19,425 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $38,269 | $67,904 | $14,050 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $52,463 | $66,350 | $26,700 |
| Area Studies | $34,280 | $65,970 | $23,000 |
| Psychology | $36,121 | $62,794 | $19,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $41,790 | $58,475 | $13,952 |
| Religious Studies | $25,260 | $58,324 | $18,267 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $34,197 | $57,646 | $14,100 |
| English | $40,092 | $55,412 | $15,000 |
| Studio Art | $23,372 | $54,579 | $19,500 |
| Anthropology | $30,609 | $51,811 | $13,885 |
| City / Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural History, Criticism, and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | $15,509 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Policy Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Archeology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | $18,131 |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Computer and Information Sciences → Software developer: median wage $128,520 (Charlottesville, VA), $136,460 (VA), $135,980 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $66,590 (Charlottesville, VA), $53,360 (VA), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
