# University of Utah

Public college in Salt Lake City, UT. IPEDS ID 230764.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-utah · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-utah.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 86% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,200 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 65%; beats 91% of UT colleges and 70% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $67,170; beats 90% of UT colleges and 82% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,123 |
| 30-48k | $13,424 |
| 48-75k | $14,246 |
| 75-110k | $17,663 |
| 110k+ | $21,533 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.6 years on average (34% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $67,170 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $38,580 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in UT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,123 | $60,366 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $13,424 | $61,750 | 2.2 years |
| 48-75k | $14,246 | $65,532 | 2.3 years |
| 75-110k | $17,663 | $81,250 | 2.8 years |
| 110k+ | $21,533 | $99,052 | 3.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,557 in-state; about $46,797 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,620 in-state, $30,860 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,398; books: $1,100

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 600–690; SAT math: 590–690; ACT: 22–29 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 22,996 applicants, 20,046 admitted, 5,560 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 86%, ACT 22–29 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 87%, ACT 22–29 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (93 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $90,282 | $137,329 | $19,947 |
| Computer Engineering | $89,605 | $114,197 | $19,375 |
| Information Science / Studies | $70,833 | $105,127 | $24,041 |
| Finance | $68,066 | $100,793 | $18,850 |
| Chemical Engineering | $73,841 | $98,215 | $22,750 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $68,783 | $96,353 | $19,476 |
| Accounting | $60,992 | $94,253 | $20,759 |
| Electrical Engineering | $75,654 | $91,361 | $24,477 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $70,999 | $91,127 | $22,400 |
| Nursing | $69,565 | $86,243 | $22,106 |
| Civil Engineering | $72,156 | $85,097 | $24,426 |
| Economics | $64,386 | $84,146 | $16,642 |
| Marketing | $56,011 | $83,511 | $20,632 |
| Business Administration | $53,806 | $81,252 | $21,500 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $67,965 | $78,989 | $25,000 |
| Physics | $38,748 | $77,158 | $21,990 |
| Writing | $47,950 | $75,686 | not reported |
| Chemistry | $41,275 | $71,276 | $18,375 |
| Mathematics | $48,842 | $71,059 | $24,625 |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | not reported | $69,027 | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | $68,928 | not reported |
| Political Science | $45,112 | $68,490 | $18,370 |
| Architecture | not reported | $67,987 | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | $36,883 | $65,703 | $25,611 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $45,868 | $64,568 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $37,920 | $64,356 | $19,500 |
| Communications | $43,801 | $63,309 | $18,017 |
| Biology | $39,212 | $62,950 | $21,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $49,446 | $62,867 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $54,604 | $61,081 | $25,472 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $37,009 | $59,855 | $22,982 |
| Social Work | $38,338 | $59,551 | $15,038 |
| Social Sciences | $35,363 | $57,708 | $22,442 |
| Public Health | $37,068 | $55,200 | $14,500 |
| Geography | $41,052 | $54,757 | $12,373 |
| Psychology | $36,000 | $52,440 | $23,500 |
| Studio Art | $33,081 | $50,166 | $23,506 |
| Sociology | $36,308 | $50,087 | $15,071 |
| Film and Photography | $28,138 | $49,841 | $24,063 |
| Theatre | $20,701 | $49,802 | $20,316 |
| Music | $42,548 | $49,240 | $16,500 |
| English | $38,644 | $47,005 | $20,000 |
| History | $28,277 | $46,896 | $22,250 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $35,467 | $46,411 | $15,500 |
| Linguistics | $30,251 | $44,336 | $21,715 |
| Anthropology | $27,844 | $43,492 | $22,887 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $40,717 | not reported | not reported |
| Architecture and Related Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Programming | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | $33,508 | not reported | $23,250 |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Metallurgical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geological / Geophysical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences, Other | $34,802 | not reported | $22,855 |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | $30,229 | not reported | $23,000 |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | $39,661 | not reported | $21,314 |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | $24,125 | not reported | $17,269 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | $16,344 |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | $25,496 |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $43,684 | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $65,440 (Salt Lake City-Murray, UT), $62,670 (UT), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (Salt Lake City-Murray, UT), $83,530 (UT), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
