# University of the Incarnate Word (UIW)

Private nonprofit college in San Antonio, TX. IPEDS ID 225627.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-the-incarnate-word · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-the-incarnate-word.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 98% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,775 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 51%; beats 64% of TX colleges and 44% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $56,733; beats 69% of TX colleges and 61% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $21,231

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,260 |
| 30-48k | $19,487 |
| 48-75k | $21,950 |
| 75-110k | $25,084 |
| 110k+ | $31,539 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.38 years on average (36% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $56,733 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,260 | $84,359 | 3.6 years |
| 30-48k | $19,487 | $85,353 | 3.7 years |
| 48-75k | $21,950 | $96,141 | 4.1 years |
| 75-110k | $25,084 | $109,868 | 4.7 years |
| 110k+ | $31,539 | $138,141 | 5.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $48,681
- Tuition and fees: $37,090
- Housing and meals: $13,746; books: $250

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 11,162 applicants, 10,421 admitted, 1,067 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 98%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 93%, ACT 17–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (59 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $64,720 | $84,286 | $27,574 |
| Human Resources | $58,499 | $72,061 | $36,007 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $44,173 | $65,405 | $28,986 |
| Business Administration | $46,092 | $64,692 | $29,791 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $63,475 | $38,436 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $47,241 | $62,084 | $21,004 |
| Health Sciences | $41,126 | $60,839 | $29,298 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $22,919 | $58,059 | $24,103 |
| Criminal Justice | $32,771 | $54,097 | $28,901 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $43,843 | $53,576 | $31,000 |
| Psychology | $30,511 | $51,470 | $27,666 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $40,453 | $50,871 | $30,718 |
| Biology | $23,270 | $50,389 | $27,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $27,986 | $48,472 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | $45,684 | not reported |
| Public Health | $37,319 | $43,524 | $31,000 |
| Theatre | $27,295 | $41,720 | not reported |
| Communications | $17,048 | $39,660 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $36,447 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Apparel and Textiles | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nutrition Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Intercultural / Multicultural and Diversity Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pastoral Counseling / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $95,760 (San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX), $101,400 (TX), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $94,370 (San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX), $95,970 (TX), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
