# University of the Cumberlands

Private nonprofit college in Williamsburg, KY. IPEDS ID 156541.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-the-cumberlands · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-the-cumberlands.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 99% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $14,107 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 50%; beats 54% of KY colleges and 43% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $45,036; beats 50% of KY colleges and 26% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $8,592

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,736 |
| 30-48k | $11,147 |
| 48-75k | $12,572 |
| 75-110k | $16,441 |
| 110k+ | $18,846 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.5 years on average (30% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $45,036 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,736 | $48,312 | 4.2 years |
| 30-48k | $11,147 | $50,162 | 4.4 years |
| 48-75k | $12,572 | $56,574 | 4.9 years |
| 75-110k | $16,441 | $73,985 | 6.4 years |
| 110k+ | $18,846 | $84,807 | 7.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,567
- Tuition and fees: $9,875
- Housing and meals: $9,300; books: $0

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,281 applicants, 3,056 admitted, 645 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 99%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 71%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (30 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $81,012 | $94,183 | $29,400 |
| Business | $46,242 | $59,760 | $21,219 |
| Biology | $27,786 | $59,702 | $20,318 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $31,401 | $45,660 | $22,630 |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | $21,137 | $45,061 | $22,750 |
| Criminal Justice | $37,564 | $41,785 | $25,000 |
| Psychology | $36,913 | $40,751 | $21,750 |
| Communications | $27,754 | $40,699 | $19,331 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $35,470 | $40,093 | $22,782 |
| Religious Education | not reported | $39,211 | $23,371 |
| Human Services | $32,938 | $37,823 | $22,783 |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $40,725 | not reported | $23,951 |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | $50,102 | not reported | $22,000 |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $95,630 (KY), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage not reported (metro), $60,490 (KY), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
