# University of Southern Indiana (USI)

Public college in Evansville, IN. IPEDS ID 151306. Bachelor's & associate degrees (47% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-southern-indiana · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-southern-indiana.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 96% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,923 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 38% of IN colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $47,605; beats 32% of IN colleges and 33% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,236

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,484 |
| 30-48k | $7,818 |
| 48-75k | $12,748 |
| 75-110k | $17,720 |
| 110k+ | $18,777 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.32 years on average (38% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $47,605 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,534 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,484 | $32,331 | 2.7 years |
| 30-48k | $7,818 | $33,774 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $12,748 | $55,071 | 4.6 years |
| 75-110k | $17,720 | $76,550 | 6.3 years |
| 110k+ | $18,777 | $81,117 | 6.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $22,383 in-state; about $35,224 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,066 in-state, $22,907 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,798; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 520–620; SAT math: 510–620; ACT: 21–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,392 applicants, 4,157 admitted, 1,283 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 96%, ACT 21–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 95%, ACT 22–28 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (53 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering | $74,976 | $92,209 | not reported |
| Nursing | $68,945 | $77,878 | $25,089 |
| Computer Science | $55,597 | $77,100 | $24,750 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $69,965 | $71,043 | $25,169 |
| Biology | $38,985 | $71,019 | $23,375 |
| Accounting | $49,170 | $70,953 | $21,096 |
| Finance | $43,335 | $70,473 | $21,500 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $61,972 | $68,825 | $20,500 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | $68,782 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $40,892 | $56,804 | $21,602 |
| Marketing | $40,814 | $56,516 | $21,550 |
| Economics | not reported | $55,605 | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $34,736 | $54,422 | $25,270 |
| Sociology | $40,255 | $54,144 | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $34,573 | $53,076 | $17,707 |
| History | $40,692 | $52,002 | $21,629 |
| Criminal Justice | $39,384 | $50,916 | $20,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $35,587 | $50,541 | $22,375 |
| Nutrition Science | not reported | $49,739 | $25,000 |
| Special Education | $44,104 | $46,769 | $27,000 |
| Health Administration | $39,286 | $45,279 | $23,250 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,510 | $45,245 | $23,500 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $34,685 | $44,197 | not reported |
| Social Work | $36,126 | $42,673 | $21,500 |
| Communications | $29,059 | $42,453 | $17,860 |
| Psychology | $33,846 | $40,574 | $20,451 |
| English | $35,062 | $40,159 | $22,480 |
| Studio Art | $28,890 | $38,619 | $22,637 |
| Theatre | $27,010 | $36,348 | $20,937 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Manufacturing Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $83,820 (Evansville, IN), $83,500 (IN), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $49,120 (Evansville, IN), $59,700 (IN), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
