# University of Scranton

Private nonprofit college in Scranton, PA. IPEDS ID 215929.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-scranton · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-scranton.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 81% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $32,568 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 80%; beats 85% of PA colleges and 89% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $74,652; beats 86% of PA colleges and 89% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $25,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $23,896 |
| 30-48k | $23,407 |
| 48-75k | $23,912 |
| 75-110k | $29,482 |
| 110k+ | $39,348 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.07 years on average (76% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $74,652 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $23,896 | $97,257 | 2.5 years |
| 30-48k | $23,407 | $95,266 | 2.5 years |
| 48-75k | $23,912 | $97,322 | 2.5 years |
| 75-110k | $29,482 | $119,992 | 3.1 years |
| 110k+ | $39,348 | $160,146 | 4.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $69,552
- Tuition and fees: $53,983
- Housing and meals: $16,918; books: $1,300

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 590–660; SAT math: 570–658; ACT: 25–30 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,530 applicants, 8,039 admitted, 1,028 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 81%, ACT 25–30 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 84%, ACT 25–30 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (58 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $82,895 | $105,353 | $27,000 |
| Finance | $56,978 | $100,962 | $27,000 |
| Computer Science | $55,390 | $98,369 | $25,500 |
| Accounting | $70,453 | $93,677 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | $44,480 | $83,756 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $53,963 | $80,611 | $25,375 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | $79,700 | $27,000 |
| Health Administration | $39,762 | $76,932 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | not reported | $72,038 | $26,000 |
| English | $22,159 | $69,349 | not reported |
| History | $26,442 | $68,443 | $25,000 |
| Biology | $31,251 | $64,774 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $32,300 | $63,483 | $27,000 |
| Philosophy | $32,513 | $63,410 | $27,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,182 | $60,846 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $33,290 | $54,088 | $26,131 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $35,568 | $53,762 | $26,000 |
| Public Health | not reported | $52,699 | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | $52,172 | $26,000 |
| Journalism | not reported | $47,302 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | $26,000 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | $25,057 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Policy Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $82,650 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $96,430 (PA), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Accounting → Accountant / auditor: median wage $70,480 (Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA), $79,000 (PA), $83,680 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
