# University of San Diego (USD)

Private nonprofit college in San Diego, CA. IPEDS ID 122436.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-san-diego · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-san-diego.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 52% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $30,365 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 84%; beats 83% of CA colleges and 92% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $86,522; beats 88% of CA colleges and 95% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,019

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,586 |
| 30-48k | $17,441 |
| 48-75k | $19,557 |
| 75-110k | $27,012 |
| 110k+ | $46,989 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $78,720
- Tuition and fees: $59,486
- Housing and meals: $18,084; books: $938

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 15,953 applicants, 7,458 admitted, 1,245 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 52%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 47%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (43 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $104,948 | $149,847 | $19,719 |
| Electrical Engineering | $80,073 | $110,314 | $29,276 |
| Accounting | $69,240 | $109,142 | $24,969 |
| Finance | $64,819 | $93,099 | $23,508 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $77,962 | $91,848 | $26,093 |
| International Business | $48,463 | $85,285 | $19,197 |
| Marketing | $56,313 | $83,562 | $21,375 |
| Biochemistry | $48,728 | $83,380 | $27,500 |
| Business Administration | $51,056 | $79,678 | $22,250 |
| Real Estate | $54,073 | $78,044 | $21,000 |
| Psychology | $35,595 | $74,178 | $24,293 |
| Neuroscience | $33,641 | $72,910 | $25,000 |
| Communications | $40,776 | $68,913 | $25,000 |
| English | $22,475 | $68,752 | $24,000 |
| Political Science | $33,040 | $62,301 | $26,000 |
| International Relations | $50,948 | $61,509 | $24,100 |
| Biology | $54,223 | $59,950 | $25,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | $58,517 | $23,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | $54,474 | not reported |
| Sociology | $36,476 | $54,338 | $26,000 |
| Architectural History, Criticism, and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Educational Administration and Supervision | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | $80,644 | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | $24,281 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Data Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | $21,500 |

## Major to career
- Finance → Financial analyst: median wage $106,040 (San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA), $109,110 (CA), $102,740 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $101,190 (San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA), $101,460 (CA), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
