# University of Saint Mary

Private nonprofit college in Leavenworth, KS. IPEDS ID 155812.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-saint-mary · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-saint-mary.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $22,519 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 56% of KS colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $59,483; beats 89% of KS colleges and 68% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,817

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $21,899 |
| 30-48k | $16,474 |
| 48-75k | $17,722 |
| 75-110k | $21,597 |
| 110k+ | $26,595 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.22 years on average (36% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $59,483 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $21,899 | $92,414 | 3.7 years |
| 30-48k | $16,474 | $69,520 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $17,722 | $74,787 | 3.0 years |
| 75-110k | $21,597 | $91,139 | 3.6 years |
| 110k+ | $26,595 | $112,231 | 4.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $48,728
- Tuition and fees: $35,380
- Housing and meals: $10,032; books: $2,550

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 378–518; SAT math: 428–510; ACT: 17–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,201 applicants, 1,079 admitted, 221 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT 17–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 90%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (30 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $70,349 | $85,587 | $29,000 |
| Biology | $34,718 | $66,649 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $35,344 | $66,570 | $26,250 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,669 | $46,079 | not reported |
| Psychology | $31,177 | $44,902 | $31,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | $39,893 | $29,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Development and Family Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $29,151 | not reported | $27,946 |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | $42,633 | not reported | $25,474 |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $83,040 (Kansas City, MO-KS), $79,320 (KS), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage $52,630 (Kansas City, MO-KS), $51,630 (KS), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
