# University of Northern Colorado

Public college in Greeley, CO. IPEDS ID 127741.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-northern-colorado · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-northern-colorado.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 86% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $17,760 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 51%; beats 65% of CO colleges and 44% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,231; beats 63% of CO colleges and 47% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,805

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,695 |
| 30-48k | $13,290 |
| 48-75k | $16,038 |
| 75-110k | $18,441 |
| 110k+ | $24,306 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.32 years on average (37% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,231 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $40,610 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in CO (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,695 | $54,842 | 4.7 years |
| 30-48k | $13,290 | $57,413 | 4.9 years |
| 48-75k | $16,038 | $69,284 | 6.0 years |
| 75-110k | $18,441 | $79,665 | 6.9 years |
| 110k+ | $24,306 | $105,002 | 9.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $29,254 in-state; about $44,104 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $12,416 in-state, $27,266 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $15,230; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 490–610; SAT math: 460–580; ACT: 21–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 10,274 applicants, 8,880 admitted, 1,229 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 86%, ACT 21–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 86%, ACT 17–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (45 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $56,557 | $95,775 | not reported |
| Nursing | $74,308 | $83,712 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $50,739 | $74,278 | $21,125 |
| Physics | $34,373 | $73,186 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $37,458 | $65,783 | $20,250 |
| Chemistry | $45,406 | $65,414 | $26,626 |
| Economics | $45,257 | $65,025 | $21,000 |
| Geography | $36,996 | $62,369 | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | $46,954 | $57,989 | $26,000 |
| Journalism | $30,216 | $57,603 | $21,750 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $26,425 | $57,508 | $20,670 |
| Communications | $34,892 | $56,520 | $24,939 |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | $55,967 | not reported |
| Dietetics | $28,224 | $55,946 | $25,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,422 | $55,282 | $18,568 |
| Health Sciences | $39,099 | $54,921 | $23,875 |
| Biology | $34,647 | $53,470 | $24,663 |
| History | $35,403 | $52,423 | $23,804 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $35,308 | $52,363 | $24,250 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $33,952 | $52,016 | $24,500 |
| Mathematics | $44,668 | $51,939 | $20,700 |
| Anthropology | $35,432 | $51,715 | $25,667 |
| Special Education | $44,009 | $51,008 | $26,564 |
| Psychology | $32,351 | $49,455 | $23,000 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | $48,643 | not reported |
| Sociology | $36,077 | $48,154 | $27,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $40,113 | $47,303 | $23,125 |
| Studio Art | $30,663 | $46,502 | $25,000 |
| English | $30,689 | $46,455 | $24,557 |
| Theatre | $24,761 | $46,089 | $24,000 |
| Nutrition Science | $39,258 | $45,979 | $25,346 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $40,614 | $45,008 | $25,906 |
| Music | $26,944 | $37,749 | $24,354 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| American Sign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | $42,076 | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $99,150 (Greeley, CO), $104,750 (CO), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $96,300 (Greeley, CO), $100,260 (CO), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
