# University of North Alabama (UNA)

Public college in Florence, AL. IPEDS ID 101879.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-north-alabama · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-north-alabama.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,170 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 67% of AL colleges and 52% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $45,415; beats 58% of AL colleges and 27% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,781

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,741 |
| 30-48k | $10,127 |
| 48-75k | $11,665 |
| 75-110k | $13,903 |
| 110k+ | $14,866 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.47 years on average (33% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $45,415 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,741 | $43,542 | 3.1 years |
| 30-48k | $10,127 | $45,268 | 3.2 years |
| 48-75k | $11,665 | $52,143 | 3.7 years |
| 75-110k | $13,903 | $62,146 | 4.5 years |
| 110k+ | $14,866 | $66,451 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,786 in-state; about $33,986 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $12,120 in-state, $22,320 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $7,900; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 4,398 applicants, 4,243 admitted, 1,106 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 97%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (46 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | $68,996 | $80,423 | $27,000 |
| Physical Sciences, Other | not reported | $78,082 | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $55,826 | $75,870 | $24,250 |
| Nursing | $61,137 | $74,550 | $25,000 |
| Chemistry | $49,497 | $72,885 | $24,830 |
| Accounting | $47,022 | $56,814 | $21,125 |
| Biology | $30,593 | $52,979 | $21,250 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $30,633 | $52,044 | $31,000 |
| Finance | $43,512 | $51,994 | $22,250 |
| Business Administration | $35,057 | $51,912 | $22,034 |
| Marketing | $40,470 | $51,124 | $21,500 |
| Geography | $41,076 | $50,445 | $28,500 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $29,714 | $50,331 | $23,250 |
| Criminal Justice | $31,595 | $48,913 | $24,125 |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | $25,805 | $48,020 | $24,937 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $42,529 | $47,973 | $25,000 |
| English | $26,213 | $47,150 | $25,000 |
| Political Science | not reported | $43,706 | $21,449 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | $30,568 | $42,733 | $27,143 |
| Music | $35,599 | $41,734 | $24,000 |
| History | $27,927 | $41,728 | $19,350 |
| Communications | $30,182 | $40,334 | $21,000 |
| Parks, Recreation, Leisure, Fitness, and Kinesiology, Other | $29,203 | $40,250 | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | $39,550 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | $33,884 | $38,735 | not reported |
| Social Work | $36,948 | $37,853 | $30,500 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | $34,810 | not reported |
| Sociology | $30,591 | $33,810 | $26,750 |
| Psychology (Research) | $20,182 | $33,565 | $21,750 |
| Interior Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Apparel and Textiles | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $66,360 (Florence-Muscle Shoals, AL), $77,080 (AL), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $60,580 (Florence-Muscle Shoals, AL), $61,380 (AL), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
