# University of New Mexico (UNM)

Public college in Albuquerque, NM. IPEDS ID 187985.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-new-mexico-main-campus · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-new-mexico-main-campus.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 95% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,489 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 70% of NM colleges and 51% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $44,792; beats 60% of NM colleges and 25% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,698

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,938 |
| 30-48k | $13,045 |
| 48-75k | $16,196 |
| 75-110k | $17,906 |
| 110k+ | $19,053 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.39 years on average (36% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $44,792 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $30,723 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NM (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,938 | $52,408 | 3.7 years |
| 30-48k | $13,045 | $57,268 | 4.1 years |
| 48-75k | $16,196 | $71,100 | 5.1 years |
| 75-110k | $17,906 | $78,607 | 5.6 years |
| 110k+ | $19,053 | $83,643 | 5.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $21,259 in-state; about $44,179 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,140 in-state, $33,060 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,884; books: $1,328

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 460–600; SAT math: 430–570; ACT: 19–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 12,907 applicants, 12,320 admitted, 3,612 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 95%, ACT 19–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 96%, ACT 19–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (68 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | not reported | $126,356 | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $89,498 | $112,064 | $22,919 |
| Chemical Engineering | $62,907 | $96,810 | $20,187 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $61,611 | $94,990 | $17,014 |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | $90,529 | $26,436 |
| Nursing | $82,216 | $86,559 | $25,271 |
| Engineering Science | $64,405 | $86,015 | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $57,714 | $84,858 | $22,294 |
| Civil Engineering | $54,248 | $81,933 | $20,500 |
| Mathematics | $44,639 | $72,979 | $21,219 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $57,178 | $71,995 | $25,625 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $55,003 | $67,561 | $20,378 |
| Geography | $32,096 | $67,336 | $14,705 |
| Business Administration | $45,215 | $62,431 | $17,916 |
| Economics | $43,656 | $62,005 | $18,450 |
| Chemistry | $30,122 | $56,319 | $26,343 |
| Writing | $33,999 | $56,244 | $14,363 |
| History | $29,793 | $55,464 | $20,345 |
| Special Education | $41,947 | $53,429 | $22,250 |
| Journalism | $32,423 | $52,760 | $13,606 |
| Political Science | $33,947 | $52,569 | $18,499 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,370 | $52,311 | $16,500 |
| Sociology | $35,796 | $52,094 | $23,141 |
| Biology | $30,065 | $51,987 | $19,000 |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $25,089 | $50,263 | $22,500 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,304 | $50,231 | $21,812 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $23,532 | $49,834 | $16,393 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $29,997 | $49,309 | $14,250 |
| Biochemistry | $23,648 | $48,873 | $20,500 |
| Architecture | not reported | $48,424 | not reported |
| Anthropology | $31,729 | $47,958 | $23,814 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $31,428 | $47,770 | $23,125 |
| English | $24,808 | $46,850 | $15,064 |
| Psychology | $31,466 | $46,693 | $20,475 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | $27,978 | $46,674 | $24,000 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | $35,369 | $46,421 | $20,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $32,236 | $45,343 | $15,187 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $38,260 | $45,139 | $25,000 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | $25,286 | $44,091 | $16,750 |
| Theatre | $17,964 | $40,085 | $23,905 |
| Area Studies | not reported | $37,949 | $19,250 |
| Studio Art | $19,227 | $35,527 | $22,500 |
| International / Global Studies | $28,238 | $33,116 | $18,500 |
| Linguistics | $27,366 | $31,036 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Educational / Instructional Media Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nuclear Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| American Sign Language | $33,300 | not reported | $25,062 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | $26,205 | not reported | $24,095 |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Community Organization and Advocacy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | $15,851 |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $100,130 (Albuquerque, NM), $93,180 (NM), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $96,040 (Albuquerque, NM), $94,340 (NM), $97,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
