# University of New Haven (UNH)

Private nonprofit college in West Haven, CT. IPEDS ID 129941.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-new-haven · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-new-haven.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 60% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $34,192 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 63%; beats 48% of CT colleges and 66% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $60,126; beats 35% of CT colleges and 70% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $20,475

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $27,837 |
| 30-48k | $29,043 |
| 48-75k | $31,601 |
| 75-110k | $34,853 |
| 110k+ | $38,385 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.15 years on average (50% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $60,126 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $37,781 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in CT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $27,837 | $115,524 | 5.2 years |
| 30-48k | $29,043 | $120,528 | 5.4 years |
| 48-75k | $31,601 | $131,144 | 5.9 years |
| 75-110k | $34,853 | $144,640 | 6.5 years |
| 110k+ | $38,385 | $159,298 | 7.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $66,962
- Tuition and fees: $47,332
- Housing and meals: $19,954; books: $1,240

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 540–645; SAT math: 520–620; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 13,498 applicants, 10,872 admitted, 1,296 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 60%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 81%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (60 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Engineering | $85,618 | $90,042 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | $62,534 | $89,099 | $27,000 |
| Accounting | not reported | $86,158 | $20,772 |
| Chemical Engineering | not reported | $85,269 | $27,000 |
| Civil Engineering | $70,495 | $83,798 | $27,000 |
| Fire Protection | $57,392 | $79,199 | $26,375 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $59,086 | $73,231 | $24,718 |
| Chemistry | not reported | $72,013 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $39,628 | $70,843 | $27,000 |
| Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other | $42,455 | $69,932 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | not reported | $63,564 | $26,000 |
| Security / Homeland Security | $40,889 | $63,360 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $36,455 | $60,656 | $27,000 |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | $60,438 | not reported |
| Communications | $27,918 | $59,225 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $34,106 | $59,107 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $29,108 | $55,058 | $27,000 |
| Interior Architecture | not reported | $52,854 | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | $23,782 | $50,112 | $27,000 |
| Music | $22,171 | $47,057 | $27,000 |
| English | not reported | $46,356 | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $29,767 | $45,115 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $37,642 | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $26,425 | $31,975 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Fields | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Support Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Genetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nutrition Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology / Biotechnology Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $82,170 (New Haven, CT), $82,170 (CT), $76,210 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $83,190 (New Haven, CT), $104,960 (CT), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
