# University of Montevallo

Public college in Montevallo, AL. IPEDS ID 101709.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-montevallo · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-montevallo.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 54% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $17,683 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 54%; beats 58% of AL colleges and 51% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $42,957; beats 35% of AL colleges and 19% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,471 |
| 30-48k | $16,104 |
| 48-75k | $18,615 |
| 75-110k | $20,357 |
| 110k+ | $21,873 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.39 years on average (34% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $42,957 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,471 | $63,528 | 5.5 years |
| 30-48k | $16,104 | $70,697 | 6.2 years |
| 48-75k | $18,615 | $81,720 | 7.1 years |
| 75-110k | $20,357 | $89,367 | 7.8 years |
| 110k+ | $21,873 | $96,022 | 8.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $27,398 in-state; about $40,418 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $13,948 in-state, $26,968 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,768; books: $1,020

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,210 applicants, 3,347 admitted, 501 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 54%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 54%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (29 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | not reported | $57,747 | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | $53,492 | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | $50,497 | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $49,979 | $24,250 |
| Finance | not reported | $48,160 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,692 | $47,823 | $24,750 |
| Writing | not reported | $46,767 | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | $44,624 | not reported |
| History | $32,263 | $44,563 | not reported |
| Social Work | $32,262 | $43,388 | $27,500 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | $42,038 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,250 | $41,758 | $25,000 |
| Psychology | $26,246 | $40,809 | $23,077 |
| Studio Art | $25,150 | $35,921 | $26,000 |
| English | not reported | $35,858 | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $62,630 (Birmingham, AL), $61,380 (AL), $63,970 (U.S.)
- Social Work → Social worker: median wage $46,540 (Birmingham, AL), $46,660 (AL), $59,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
