# University of Mississippi

Public college in University, MS. IPEDS ID 176017.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-mississippi · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-mississippi.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 97% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,314 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 72%; beats 100% of MS colleges and 82% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $50,994; beats 86% of MS colleges and 43% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,945 |
| 30-48k | $9,217 |
| 48-75k | $14,794 |
| 75-110k | $18,573 |
| 110k+ | $21,313 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.23 years on average (55% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $50,994 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,945 | $37,837 | 1.9 years |
| 30-48k | $9,217 | $38,988 | 1.9 years |
| 48-75k | $14,794 | $62,579 | 3.1 years |
| 75-110k | $18,573 | $78,564 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $21,313 | $90,154 | 4.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $28,660 in-state; about $47,488 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,772 in-state, $28,600 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,040; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 510–610; SAT math: 490–590; ACT: 21–29 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 27,837 applicants, 27,218 admitted, 5,237 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 97%, ACT 21–29 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 98%, ACT 21–29 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (76 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chemical Engineering | $76,685 | $107,548 | $22,750 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $70,038 | $93,311 | $24,629 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $66,082 | $87,958 | $21,250 |
| Nursing | $69,353 | $87,701 | $21,450 |
| Accounting | $59,123 | $85,482 | $23,150 |
| Public Policy Analysis | $40,259 | $85,338 | $21,000 |
| Finance | $52,550 | $80,488 | $24,487 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $22,239 | $73,870 | $23,034 |
| Marketing | $43,811 | $69,139 | $22,500 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $41,247 | $69,082 | $21,521 |
| Business Administration | $44,971 | $67,414 | $21,900 |
| Political Science | $33,373 | $65,925 | $25,432 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $50,045 | $64,912 | $15,000 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | $52,439 | $64,205 | $12,500 |
| Biology | $21,325 | $58,393 | $21,500 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $24,300 | $56,930 | $26,000 |
| Journalism | $35,389 | $56,381 | $24,225 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $51,838 | $54,022 | $22,875 |
| Criminal Justice | $31,875 | $52,874 | $22,171 |
| Psychology | $30,336 | $49,974 | $24,600 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $39,985 | $47,048 | $21,000 |
| Social Work | $31,190 | $43,571 | $21,986 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $37,838 | $42,535 | $20,470 |
| English | $24,389 | $42,000 | $19,537 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $37,174 | $39,871 | $25,450 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | $58,112 | not reported | $27,500 |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | $74,931 | not reported | not reported |
| Geological / Geophysical Engineering | $59,070 | not reported | $23,970 |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | $38,387 | not reported | $25,750 |
| Legal Support Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | $24,972 | not reported | $18,000 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $34,607 | not reported | $24,525 |
| Gerontology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $35,318 | not reported | $22,213 |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | $35,132 | not reported | $26,219 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | $18,337 | not reported | $26,225 |
| Music | $38,029 | not reported | $17,250 |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $54,947 | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | not reported | $21,000 |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | $22,275 | not reported | $22,500 |
| Business | $39,464 | not reported | $21,500 |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | $34,282 | not reported | $25,000 |
| Management Information Systems | $63,107 | not reported | $22,400 |
| Real Estate | $49,283 | not reported | $23,000 |
| Insurance | $55,154 | not reported | $22,500 |
| History | not reported | not reported | $22,700 |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $77,090 (MS), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $49,790 (MS), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
