# University of Memphis

Public college in Memphis, TN. IPEDS ID 220862.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-memphis · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-memphis.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 72% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,397 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 51%; beats 47% of TN colleges and 44% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $48,458; beats 47% of TN colleges and 36% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,809

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,607 |
| 30-48k | $10,968 |
| 48-75k | $13,923 |
| 75-110k | $17,384 |
| 110k+ | $18,691 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.46 years on average (31% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $48,458 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,518 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,607 | $47,307 | 3.4 years |
| 30-48k | $10,968 | $48,917 | 3.5 years |
| 48-75k | $13,923 | $62,097 | 4.5 years |
| 75-110k | $17,384 | $77,533 | 5.6 years |
| 110k+ | $18,691 | $83,362 | 6.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,169 in-state; about $29,825 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,728 in-state, $15,384 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,344; books: $920

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 480–600; SAT math: 435–580; ACT: 18–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 15,640 applicants, 14,605 admitted, 2,591 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 72%, ACT 18–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 93%, ACT 17–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (51 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $57,233 | $90,207 | $24,672 |
| Computer Engineering | $65,222 | $89,702 | $25,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $69,386 | $89,516 | $27,500 |
| Electrical Engineering | $71,137 | $89,515 | $23,000 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $62,454 | $88,279 | $26,500 |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $61,465 | $79,914 | $27,600 |
| Civil Engineering | $64,780 | $79,598 | $29,750 |
| Nursing | $73,680 | $75,444 | $27,168 |
| Management Information Systems | $51,524 | $73,323 | $29,768 |
| Accounting | $51,425 | $71,038 | $26,975 |
| Marketing | $43,986 | $67,468 | $21,904 |
| Finance | $44,395 | $65,132 | $27,000 |
| Mathematics | $57,310 | $65,079 | $24,125 |
| Business Administration | $47,611 | $65,045 | $25,500 |
| International Business | $40,857 | $62,729 | $21,500 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $39,819 | $58,237 | $25,000 |
| Business Economics | $37,534 | $57,162 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $32,145 | $53,784 | $25,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $35,900 | $53,399 | $27,000 |
| Hospitality Management | $31,190 | $52,627 | $29,000 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | $51,232 | $32,000 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $37,999 | $50,497 | $21,747 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $32,305 | $50,126 | $27,500 |
| Political Science | $27,600 | $50,070 | $24,450 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $37,229 | $49,707 | $30,430 |
| Journalism | $32,820 | $49,445 | $26,875 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $37,158 | $48,798 | $38,972 |
| Studio Art | $26,451 | $48,064 | $28,850 |
| Special Education | $44,664 | $47,465 | $23,397 |
| History | $30,652 | $47,449 | $25,000 |
| Anthropology | $23,112 | $46,560 | $20,081 |
| Social Work | $36,220 | $46,494 | $36,506 |
| Chemistry | $36,881 | $46,490 | $20,000 |
| Psychology | $31,582 | $45,700 | $27,000 |
| Music | $27,353 | $45,321 | $22,060 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $33,502 | $44,293 | $28,439 |
| Sociology | $34,822 | $43,595 | $29,250 |
| Communications | $26,922 | $42,605 | $23,381 |
| English | $25,948 | $41,383 | $23,708 |
| Linguistics | $23,533 | $39,001 | $25,750 |
| Theatre | $19,055 | $38,440 | $22,875 |
| Environmental Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $81,500 (Memphis, TN-MS-AR), $81,500 (TN), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $94,980 (Memphis, TN-MS-AR), $99,260 (TN), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
