# University of Maryland-College Park

Public college in College Park, MD. IPEDS ID 163286.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-maryland-college-park · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-maryland-college-park.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 45% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,678 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 89%; beats 88% of MD colleges and 95% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $82,860; beats 88% of MD colleges and 94% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $17,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,962 |
| 30-48k | $6,051 |
| 48-75k | $10,273 |
| 75-110k | $18,250 |
| 110k+ | $26,691 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.16 years on average (76% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $82,860 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,962 | $12,322 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $6,051 | $25,172 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $10,273 | $42,736 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $18,250 | $75,920 | 1.6 years |
| 110k+ | $26,691 | $111,035 | 2.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $29,299 in-state; about $58,676 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $11,809 in-state, $41,186 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $15,416; books: $1,250

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 690–750; SAT math: 710–780; ACT: 32–35 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 59,377 applicants, 26,625 admitted, 6,197 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 45%, ACT 32–35 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 45%, ACT 32–35 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (99 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $95,847 | $152,422 | $20,695 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | $144,501 | not reported |
| Computer Science | $99,756 | $137,931 | $20,000 |
| Management Science / Analytics | $72,304 | $111,649 | $15,000 |
| Finance | $75,689 | $110,648 | $19,500 |
| Information Science / Studies | $70,344 | $109,092 | $20,180 |
| Electrical Engineering | $85,500 | $107,834 | $23,804 |
| Chemical Engineering | $81,777 | $102,149 | $23,250 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $76,485 | $100,003 | $20,500 |
| Mathematics | $79,129 | $99,689 | $19,500 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | $78,631 | $98,044 | $22,500 |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | $97,714 | not reported |
| Accounting | $69,821 | $97,314 | $15,000 |
| Marketing | $61,578 | $93,782 | $21,038 |
| Agricultural Engineering | $69,848 | $93,440 | $22,500 |
| Civil Engineering | $76,731 | $93,280 | $21,437 |
| Engineering, Other | $80,931 | $92,653 | $18,750 |
| Physics | $39,825 | $90,900 | $20,194 |
| International Business | $61,199 | $90,333 | $22,500 |
| Business Administration | $65,842 | $86,590 | $20,500 |
| Economics | $58,650 | $83,880 | $20,097 |
| Biochemistry | $48,721 | $80,470 | $19,500 |
| Chemistry | $46,140 | $79,869 | $21,238 |
| Agricultural Business | $53,081 | $78,577 | $20,000 |
| Political Science | $42,688 | $74,437 | $18,768 |
| Communications | $43,696 | $74,402 | $20,000 |
| Food Science and Technology | $24,341 | $73,677 | $24,730 |
| Public Health | $38,273 | $72,328 | $23,424 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $31,105 | $69,033 | $21,500 |
| Architecture | $46,347 | $68,527 | $22,654 |
| Journalism | $46,893 | $68,128 | $23,250 |
| Criminology | $43,698 | $67,258 | $19,500 |
| Sociology | $34,150 | $65,974 | $20,460 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $36,375 | $65,639 | $19,635 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $41,157 | $65,136 | $19,533 |
| Biology | $30,325 | $64,867 | $19,000 |
| Philosophy | $35,608 | $64,846 | $20,164 |
| Geography | $40,913 | $63,835 | $24,441 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $31,403 | $62,362 | $23,138 |
| History | $42,020 | $60,089 | $23,715 |
| Area Studies | $24,699 | $59,469 | $22,250 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $34,777 | $59,461 | $19,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $41,152 | $59,329 | $19,699 |
| English | $36,561 | $59,288 | $21,500 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $39,516 | $59,193 | $22,750 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $53,054 | $58,086 | $19,500 |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | $33,070 | $58,063 | not reported |
| Psychology | $35,933 | $57,575 | $20,500 |
| Animal Sciences | $40,209 | $56,248 | $21,500 |
| Studio Art | $32,031 | $55,713 | $20,000 |
| Anthropology | $33,837 | $53,038 | $20,070 |
| Film and Photography | not reported | $50,713 | not reported |
| Music | not reported | $47,654 | $21,614 |
| Theatre | $17,985 | $41,742 | $20,681 |
| Agriculture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Plant Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Soil Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Agriculture / Veterinary Preparatory Programs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Agricultural / Animal / Plant / Veterinary Science and Related Fields, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Forestry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| City / Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interior Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological / Biosystems Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering / Engineering-Related Technologies / Technicians, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Iranian / Persian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Middle / Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Housing and Human Environments | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Apparel and Textiles | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Policy Analysis | $45,642 | not reported | $21,500 |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Real Estate | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $101,680 (Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV), $79,560 (MD), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $126,990 (Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV), $122,870 (MD), $104,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
