# University of Louisville

Public college in Louisville, KY. IPEDS ID 157289.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-louisville · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-louisville.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 79% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $17,988 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 61%; beats 79% of KY colleges and 64% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $53,899; beats 81% of KY colleges and 52% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $13,750

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,138 |
| 30-48k | $14,601 |
| 48-75k | $16,419 |
| 75-110k | $20,995 |
| 110k+ | $25,186 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.35 years on average (43% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $53,899 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,138 | $65,850 | 3.2 years |
| 30-48k | $14,601 | $63,514 | 3.1 years |
| 48-75k | $16,419 | $71,423 | 3.5 years |
| 75-110k | $20,995 | $91,328 | 4.5 years |
| 110k+ | $25,186 | $109,559 | 5.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $32,941 in-state; about $49,287 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $13,136 in-state, $29,482 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $11,690; books: $1,274

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 530–640; SAT math: 510–630; ACT: 19–27 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 14,821 applicants, 11,937 admitted, 3,117 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 79%, ACT 19–27 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 81%, ACT 19–27 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (51 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial Engineering | $74,163 | $104,538 | $23,000 |
| Chemical Engineering | $70,675 | $101,068 | $21,500 |
| Computer Engineering | $72,710 | $97,216 | $21,306 |
| Electrical Engineering | $77,732 | $93,968 | $13,311 |
| Management Information Systems | $67,159 | $90,799 | $24,957 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $71,169 | $89,056 | $21,500 |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | $84,311 | $15,500 |
| Civil Engineering | $66,064 | $80,681 | $24,503 |
| Nursing | $69,027 | $78,902 | $23,205 |
| Mathematics | not reported | $77,756 | $18,750 |
| Business Economics | $48,050 | $75,845 | $17,250 |
| Finance | $52,167 | $75,089 | $22,500 |
| Accounting | $51,923 | $74,924 | $19,374 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $56,188 | $74,873 | $22,250 |
| Marketing | $47,704 | $68,074 | $21,384 |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | $57,464 | $62,595 | $26,380 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,728 | $57,399 | $23,151 |
| Geography | $37,844 | $56,775 | not reported |
| Biology | $27,123 | $56,142 | $20,681 |
| Public Health | $31,824 | $56,057 | $18,500 |
| Political Science | $31,777 | $55,856 | $19,500 |
| Communications | $38,219 | $55,636 | $23,375 |
| Social Work | $35,257 | $54,437 | $25,209 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $33,241 | $53,496 | $22,053 |
| Psychology | $30,416 | $51,387 | $23,500 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $29,990 | $50,715 | $32,181 |
| Sociology | $32,818 | $50,397 | $23,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $41,672 | $47,190 | $23,584 |
| History | $22,047 | $45,825 | $23,312 |
| English | $28,994 | $45,572 | $20,531 |
| Studio Art | $28,485 | $45,429 | $25,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $22,239 | $44,829 | $27,001 |
| Philosophy | not reported | $44,329 | not reported |
| Anthropology | $29,966 | $43,564 | $23,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | $42,369 | $20,400 |
| Music | $20,125 | $39,168 | $20,745 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $68,351 | not reported | $21,500 |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| American Sign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | $41,842 | not reported | $24,411 |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $84,850 (Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN), $81,040 (KY), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $61,640 (Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN), $60,150 (KY), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
