# University of California-Santa Barbara

Public college in Santa Barbara, CA. IPEDS ID 110705.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-california-santa-barbara · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-of-california-santa-barbara.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 33% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,109 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 83%; beats 81% of CA colleges and 91% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $74,915; beats 74% of CA colleges and 89% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $11,875

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,231 |
| 30-48k | $9,992 |
| 48-75k | $12,588 |
| 75-110k | $17,136 |
| 110k+ | $31,863 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $41,573 in-state; about $75,773 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $16,414 in-state, $50,614 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $18,684; books: $1,482

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 110,871 applicants, 30,804 admitted, 5,043 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 33%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 28%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### State-published GPA and test ranges (middle 50%)
- Admitted for Fall 2026: GPA (weighted) 4.05–4.27; SAT —; ACT —; CLT — (First-year admit data, fall 2026 (one page per campus))
- Check chances: https://educationguide.com/chances?school=university-of-california-santa-barbara

## Majors (53 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $107,776 | $149,190 | $11,000 |
| Computer Engineering | $91,387 | $144,703 | $14,410 |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | $117,215 | $15,571 |
| Chemical Engineering | $79,737 | $113,317 | $14,937 |
| Applied Mathematics | $59,638 | $109,360 | $17,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $81,108 | $104,336 | $15,908 |
| Pharmacology and Toxicology | $39,421 | $98,462 | $14,500 |
| Economics | $66,334 | $98,178 | $13,516 |
| Management Science / Analytics | $66,099 | $96,078 | $11,128 |
| Statistics | $55,110 | $90,778 | $17,500 |
| Biochemistry | $49,100 | $90,694 | $9,500 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $42,634 | $90,061 | $16,500 |
| Mathematics | $46,447 | $85,391 | $17,000 |
| Physics | $53,597 | $85,219 | $15,982 |
| Chemistry | $47,197 | $74,713 | $15,805 |
| Communications | $46,598 | $72,976 | $13,018 |
| Philosophy | $25,303 | $71,796 | $15,000 |
| Political Science | $39,404 | $70,384 | $16,485 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $35,635 | $68,496 | $16,261 |
| Geography | $37,398 | $67,521 | $13,750 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $30,759 | $66,788 | $21,800 |
| Psychology (Research) | $34,431 | $66,171 | $15,000 |
| International / Global Studies | $33,553 | $66,127 | $14,792 |
| Biology | $33,486 | $64,520 | $14,586 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $33,759 | $63,628 | $16,533 |
| Linguistics | $27,629 | $61,580 | $14,100 |
| Sociology | $34,372 | $60,013 | $13,500 |
| History | $29,749 | $59,342 | $14,500 |
| English | $24,099 | $59,334 | $17,550 |
| Area Studies | not reported | $59,042 | $22,697 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $32,341 | $59,004 | $13,500 |
| Anthropology | $31,420 | $56,238 | $19,500 |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | $37,633 | $53,727 | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $29,258 | $50,694 | $12,500 |
| Film and Photography | $28,608 | $49,893 | $15,000 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $46,428 | $16,978 |
| Dance | not reported | $44,858 | not reported |
| Theatre | $20,503 | $44,106 | $16,852 |
| Religious Studies | $19,911 | $43,377 | $15,873 |
| Music | not reported | $33,825 | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cell / Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $38,333 | not reported | $19,000 |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $78,450 (Santa Maria-Santa Barbara, CA), $85,030 (CA), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage $105,230 (Santa Maria-Santa Barbara, CA), $106,510 (CA), $82,220 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
