# University at Buffalo (UB)

Public college in Buffalo, NY. IPEDS ID 196088.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-at-buffalo · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/university-at-buffalo.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 74% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $20,995 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 75%; beats 78% of NY colleges and 86% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $70,814; beats 74% of NY colleges and 86% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,668 |
| 30-48k | $16,585 |
| 48-75k | $21,262 |
| 75-110k | $24,117 |
| 110k+ | $28,079 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.24 years on average (59% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $70,814 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,668 | $62,192 | 1.7 years |
| 30-48k | $16,585 | $70,320 | 1.9 years |
| 48-75k | $21,262 | $90,151 | 2.5 years |
| 75-110k | $24,117 | $102,256 | 2.8 years |
| 110k+ | $28,079 | $119,055 | 3.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $30,785 in-state; about $51,385 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,936 in-state, $31,536 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $16,754; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 600–680; SAT math: 610–700; ACT: 27–32 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 38,210 applicants, 26,481 admitted, 4,271 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 74%, ACT 27–32 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 69%, ACT 27–32 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (80 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $74,753 | $109,221 | $22,500 |
| Computer Science | $72,283 | $105,160 | $20,500 |
| Chemical Engineering | $67,873 | $95,424 | $23,161 |
| Electrical Engineering | $74,205 | $95,209 | $23,500 |
| Nursing | $78,621 | $93,507 | $26,117 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | $69,716 | $92,360 | $24,846 |
| Accounting | $47,474 | $92,314 | $19,680 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $70,264 | $89,223 | $21,842 |
| Industrial Engineering | $63,476 | $86,118 | $24,750 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $55,974 | $84,920 | $21,000 |
| Civil Engineering | $64,604 | $84,868 | $22,913 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $65,094 | $84,602 | $23,944 |
| Environmental Engineering | $57,098 | $75,263 | $27,000 |
| Economics | $40,078 | $70,720 | $20,225 |
| Business Administration | $43,805 | $69,903 | $21,500 |
| Chemistry | $35,284 | $68,413 | $23,250 |
| Geography | $29,390 | $68,176 | $24,255 |
| Physiology | $29,123 | $66,880 | $23,900 |
| International Business | $35,141 | $64,711 | $22,782 |
| Pharmacology and Toxicology | $34,468 | $64,445 | $23,503 |
| Communications | $39,226 | $62,912 | $22,251 |
| Architecture | $37,622 | $61,525 | $22,854 |
| Mathematics | $46,016 | $60,882 | $18,750 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $39,696 | $59,841 | $23,250 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | $59,216 | $19,500 |
| Political Science | $27,495 | $58,292 | $20,750 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $24,952 | $57,360 | $21,944 |
| Biology | $29,892 | $57,298 | $22,481 |
| Social Sciences | $28,844 | $56,257 | $21,000 |
| Sociology | $28,593 | $54,382 | $18,945 |
| Psychology | $31,351 | $52,303 | $20,830 |
| English | $21,208 | $51,385 | $19,583 |
| History | $28,857 | $50,518 | $23,392 |
| Environmental Design | $37,952 | $49,920 | $19,669 |
| Theatre | $25,810 | $45,677 | $26,637 |
| Linguistics | $26,703 | $44,841 | $19,125 |
| Anthropology | $29,460 | $44,274 | $24,500 |
| Studio Art | $24,370 | $43,584 | $19,500 |
| Film and Photography | $26,630 | $43,285 | $24,509 |
| Dance | $17,110 | $39,576 | $20,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | $19,375 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nuclear Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nutrition Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cognitive Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computational Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy, Politics, and Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | $39,164 | not reported | $23,250 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $84,710 (Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY), $112,250 (NY), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $97,200 (Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY), $102,440 (NY), $104,110 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
