# Tuskegee University

Private nonprofit college in Tuskegee, AL. IPEDS ID 102377.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/tuskegee-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/tuskegee-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 49% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $35,013 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 71% of AL colleges and 52% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $49,641; beats 69% of AL colleges and 40% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $21,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $34,324 |
| 30-48k | $34,069 |
| 48-75k | $34,855 |
| 75-110k | $37,772 |
| 110k+ | $36,778 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.58 years on average (31% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $49,641 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $34,324 | $157,204 | 8.7 years |
| 30-48k | $34,069 | $156,036 | 8.6 years |
| 48-75k | $34,855 | $159,636 | 8.8 years |
| 75-110k | $37,772 | $172,996 | 9.5 years |
| 110k+ | $36,778 | $168,443 | 9.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $43,454
- Tuition and fees: $25,386
- Housing and meals: $9,844; books: $1,812

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 18–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 11,742 applicants, 3,690 admitted, 859 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 49%, ACT 18–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 31%, ACT 18–26 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (43 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Electrical Engineering | $76,638 | $95,915 | $28,250 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $75,759 | $93,694 | $30,500 |
| Building / Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | not reported | $87,107 | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | $74,078 | not reported |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | $46,303 | $73,435 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $46,123 | $67,529 | $29,563 |
| Political Science | $16,884 | $66,391 | not reported |
| Psychology | $25,589 | $45,053 | $31,000 |
| Biology | $14,102 | $40,867 | $30,750 |
| Animal Sciences | $24,211 | $39,949 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Plant Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Forestry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | $25,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical / Space Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | $51,473 | not reported | not reported |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Policy Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | $26,437 | not reported | $33,500 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | $78,874 | not reported | $31,000 |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Mechanical Engineering → Mechanical engineer: median wage $100,230 (Auburn-Opelika, AL), $100,230 (AL), $104,110 (U.S.)
- Biology → Biological technician: median wage not reported (Auburn-Opelika, AL), $49,220 (AL), $57,510 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
