# Tulane University of Louisiana

Private nonprofit college in New Orleans, LA. IPEDS ID 160755.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/tulane-university-of-louisiana · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/tulane-university-of-louisiana.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 14% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $39,949 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 86%; beats 100% of LA colleges and 94% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $63,268; beats 96% of LA colleges and 76% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,126 |
| 30-48k | $18,041 |
| 48-75k | $20,149 |
| 75-110k | $28,207 |
| 110k+ | $56,667 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.08 years on average (82% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $63,268 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,126 | $65,794 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $18,041 | $73,607 | 2.4 years |
| 48-75k | $20,149 | $82,208 | 2.7 years |
| 75-110k | $28,207 | $115,085 | 3.7 years |
| 110k+ | $56,667 | $231,201 | 7.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $87,004
- Tuition and fees: $68,678
- Housing and meals: $18,088; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 700–750; SAT math: 700–770; ACT: 31–34 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 27,936 applicants, 4,077 admitted, 1,867 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 14%, ACT 31–34 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 15%, ACT 31–33 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (68 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finance | $77,806 | $129,850 | $21,500 |
| Computer Science | $90,828 | $118,931 | $19,000 |
| Biomedical Engineering | not reported | $112,914 | $23,760 |
| Marketing | $61,413 | $98,503 | $19,500 |
| Business Administration | $61,089 | $95,966 | $19,250 |
| Economics | $46,386 | $79,957 | $19,500 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $32,356 | $79,925 | $20,500 |
| International Relations | $47,956 | $77,300 | $20,500 |
| Communications | $33,428 | $76,945 | $23,082 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | $39,085 | $71,325 | $19,500 |
| Political Science | $41,265 | $71,160 | $19,500 |
| Computer Programming | $46,719 | $67,047 | $38,293 |
| Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other | $46,735 | $64,914 | $28,000 |
| Psychology | $31,585 | $60,260 | $22,250 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $32,879 | $58,507 | $30,354 |
| English | $30,318 | $57,752 | $20,652 |
| Anthropology | $24,042 | $56,847 | $19,500 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $35,755 | $52,535 | $19,250 |
| Social Sciences | $37,472 | $51,290 | $47,000 |
| Sociology | not reported | $50,847 | $12,000 |
| Neuroscience | $22,270 | $48,464 | $19,500 |
| Health Sciences | $39,553 | $47,791 | $29,937 |
| Biology | not reported | $47,777 | $13,875 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $27,339 | $47,709 | $19,500 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | $40,169 | not reported |
| Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Real Estate Development | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Support Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cell / Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | not reported | not reported | $15,500 |
| Mathematics | $55,916 | not reported | $14,957 |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | $41,032 | not reported | $20,000 |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology (Research) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | $55,509 | not reported | $21,500 |
| History | not reported | not reported | $22,580 |

## Major to career
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage $65,590 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $59,690 (LA), $78,760 (U.S.)
- Finance → Financial analyst: median wage $77,860 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $75,680 (LA), $102,740 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
