# The University of Montana

Public college in Missoula, MT. IPEDS ID 180489.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-montana · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/the-university-of-montana.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 96% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,784 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 48%; beats 50% of MT colleges and 38% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $44,511; beats 50% of MT colleges and 24% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $15,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,960 |
| 30-48k | $14,892 |
| 48-75k | $17,180 |
| 75-110k | $19,269 |
| 110k+ | $20,930 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.41 years on average (31% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $44,511 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,960 | $61,564 | 5.6 years |
| 30-48k | $14,892 | $65,674 | 6.0 years |
| 48-75k | $17,180 | $75,764 | 6.9 years |
| 75-110k | $19,269 | $84,976 | 7.7 years |
| 110k+ | $20,930 | $92,301 | 8.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,570 in-state; about $48,689 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,552 in-state, $33,671 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,192; books: $1,100

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 23–28 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 9,464 applicants, 9,048 admitted, 1,652 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 96%, ACT 23–28 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 96%, ACT 23–28 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (70 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | $91,943 | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | $54,816 | $73,149 | $23,250 |
| Accounting | $47,164 | $61,408 | $23,500 |
| Forestry | $31,138 | $60,526 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $37,784 | $57,892 | $23,923 |
| Communications | $34,377 | $54,300 | $20,328 |
| Sociology | $39,160 | $51,708 | $24,650 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $28,298 | $51,540 | not reported |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | $51,426 | not reported |
| Political Science | $38,094 | $47,341 | $21,173 |
| Social Work | $33,726 | $46,459 | $25,000 |
| History | $28,508 | $46,408 | $26,500 |
| Journalism | $35,924 | $46,267 | $26,375 |
| Psychology | $25,023 | $46,192 | $27,000 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $43,929 | $24,648 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $27,552 | $43,813 | $21,250 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,142 | $43,347 | $24,880 |
| Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management | $28,339 | $43,286 | $25,000 |
| English | $21,447 | $41,634 | $23,000 |
| Anthropology | $30,011 | $40,550 | $27,235 |
| Biology | $43,914 | $37,771 | $26,718 |
| Film and Photography | $24,679 | $36,169 | $26,400 |
| Studio Art | $22,149 | $29,606 | $26,187 |
| Environmental / Natural Resources Management and Policy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Botany / Plant Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | $32,671 | not reported | $20,500 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Neuroscience | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | $25,950 | not reported | $16,784 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | $27,997 |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $46,350 (Missoula, MT), $97,470 (MT), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Environmental Science / Conservation → Environmental scientist: median wage $77,940 (Missoula, MT), $80,260 (MT), $82,220 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
