# The University of Montana-Western

Public college in Dillon, MT. IPEDS ID 180692.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-montana-western · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/the-university-of-montana-western.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 100% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,558 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 51%; beats 67% of MT colleges and 44% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $43,229; beats 33% of MT colleges and 20% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,822 |
| 30-48k | $14,058 |
| 48-75k | $15,951 |
| 75-110k | $17,785 |
| 110k+ | $20,125 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.37 years on average (35% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $43,229 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,822 | $64,772 | 6.7 years |
| 30-48k | $14,058 | $61,433 | 6.3 years |
| 48-75k | $15,951 | $69,706 | 7.2 years |
| 75-110k | $17,785 | $77,720 | 8.0 years |
| 110k+ | $20,125 | $87,946 | 9.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $21,403 in-state; about $34,863 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $6,670 in-state, $20,130 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,104; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 793 applicants, 789 admitted, 300 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 100%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 100%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (19 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration | $35,880 | $47,344 | $21,627 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $38,151 | $46,457 | $22,557 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,742 | $41,988 | $23,269 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Behavioral Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Psychology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology and Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage not reported (metro), $57,530 (MT), $63,970 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $97,470 (MT), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
