# Texas Southern University (TSU)

Public college in Houston, TX. IPEDS ID 229063.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/texas-southern-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/texas-southern-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 97% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $16,590 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 22%; beats 9% of TX colleges and 7% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $38,924; beats 11% of TX colleges and 11% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,250

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,437 |
| 30-48k | $21,115 |
| 48-75k | $21,280 |
| 75-110k | $22,698 |
| 110k+ | $21,610 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.93 years on average (6% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $38,924 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,437 | $81,034 | 15.0 years |
| 30-48k | $21,115 | $104,097 | 19.2 years |
| 48-75k | $21,280 | $104,910 | 19.4 years |
| 75-110k | $22,698 | $111,901 | more than 20 years |
| 110k+ | $21,610 | $106,537 | 19.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $27,052 in-state; about $39,352 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $9,173 in-state, $21,473 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,914; books: $1,654

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 420–520; SAT math: 380–480; ACT: 15–19 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 7,867 applicants, 7,344 admitted, 1,657 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 97%, ACT 15–19 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 93%, ACT 15–19 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (47 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Civil Engineering | not reported | $71,595 | not reported |
| Finance | $53,873 | $70,201 | $32,987 |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $57,511 | $62,728 | $37,125 |
| Accounting | $36,961 | $59,386 | $31,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $32,409 | $56,482 | $30,000 |
| Biology | $31,779 | $55,321 | $34,302 |
| Business Administration | $40,304 | $53,203 | $36,720 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | $51,195 | $34,750 |
| Social Work | $42,333 | $49,871 | $38,162 |
| Health Administration | $34,332 | $48,426 | $32,750 |
| Psychology | $26,291 | $47,185 | $39,265 |
| Criminal Justice | $29,763 | $45,961 | $36,250 |
| Journalism | $18,301 | $45,152 | $34,750 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $34,661 | $44,953 | $48,500 |
| Health Sciences | $20,655 | $44,612 | $29,625 |
| Marketing | $26,973 | $41,768 | $32,500 |
| Communications | not reported | $40,687 | $38,783 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $44,995 | not reported | $35,472 |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Services | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | $26,806 | not reported | $33,000 |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $54,327 | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $101,120 (Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX), $101,400 (TX), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $74,570 (Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX), $75,900 (TX), $76,210 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
