# Temple University

Public college in Philadelphia, PA. IPEDS ID 216339.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/temple-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/temple-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 80% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $28,198 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 75%; beats 80% of PA colleges and 85% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $63,727; beats 74% of PA colleges and 78% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,750

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,694 |
| 30-48k | $23,431 |
| 48-75k | $26,534 |
| 75-110k | $29,397 |
| 110k+ | $34,947 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.28 years on average (57% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $63,727 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,694 | $97,130 | 3.5 years |
| 30-48k | $23,431 | $100,285 | 3.6 years |
| 48-75k | $26,534 | $113,566 | 4.1 years |
| 75-110k | $29,397 | $125,819 | 4.5 years |
| 110k+ | $34,947 | $149,573 | 5.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $40,903 in-state; about $56,850 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $23,011 in-state, $38,958 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $16,968; books: $1,240

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 36,399 applicants, 30,181 admitted, 3,763 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 80%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 83%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: rigor, gpa; important: none; considered: test scores, essay, recommendations, extracurriculars, talent, character, first generation, alumni relation, geography, state residency, volunteer, work experience, interest
- Early decision: no; early action: yes; waitlist: not reported
- Source: https://ira.temple.edu/sites/ira/files/media/document/CDS%202025-26_Temple%20University_26-27_Class-Rank-Update.pdf

## Majors (98 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Management Science / Analytics | $74,778 | $104,311 | $26,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $73,393 | $101,670 | $26,000 |
| Biomedical Engineering | $54,415 | $101,101 | $27,000 |
| Electrical Engineering | $75,148 | $97,839 | $27,000 |
| Nursing | $82,319 | $96,342 | $26,000 |
| Insurance | $66,080 | $92,555 | $26,000 |
| Mathematics | $59,167 | $91,330 | $22,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $66,161 | $91,131 | $26,843 |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | $72,240 | $89,674 | $28,250 |
| Accounting | $63,202 | $85,777 | $26,000 |
| Finance | $58,807 | $85,011 | $26,000 |
| Business Administration | $58,307 | $82,570 | $20,500 |
| Civil Engineering | $68,389 | $82,553 | $26,665 |
| Biochemistry | $45,994 | $80,364 | $25,500 |
| Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $57,665 | $79,351 | $30,625 |
| Chemistry | $42,022 | $78,052 | $24,000 |
| Civil Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | $77,673 | not reported |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | $52,611 | $76,927 | $25,000 |
| Business | $48,747 | $75,632 | $27,000 |
| Management Information Systems | $59,385 | $75,286 | $27,000 |
| Economics | $48,242 | $73,154 | $24,250 |
| Human Resources | $50,128 | $73,127 | $27,000 |
| Marketing | $47,460 | $72,289 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $35,101 | $72,134 | $26,000 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $41,165 | $67,840 | $26,000 |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | $50,267 | $66,518 | $27,000 |
| Real Estate | $48,836 | $65,650 | $23,811 |
| International Business | $46,013 | $65,302 | $26,987 |
| Neuroscience | $30,956 | $64,063 | $26,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $29,322 | $63,714 | $26,000 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $17,826 | $62,061 | $26,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $31,817 | $60,864 | $25,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $43,530 | $60,782 | $26,875 |
| Legal Professions and Studies, Other | not reported | $60,714 | $27,000 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $30,970 | $60,672 | $26,000 |
| Entrepreneurship | $50,876 | $60,437 | $24,250 |
| Hospitality Management | $35,339 | $60,347 | $26,417 |
| Political Science | $36,011 | $59,848 | $25,815 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | $59,764 | $28,000 |
| Public Health | $43,093 | $57,499 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $38,612 | $56,164 | $26,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $47,825 | $55,494 | $26,000 |
| Communications | $34,496 | $54,283 | $24,880 |
| Social Work | $39,055 | $54,166 | $27,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $29,112 | $53,818 | $26,000 |
| Journalism | $30,959 | $53,518 | $26,000 |
| English | $28,914 | $53,018 | $25,949 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $46,019 | $52,739 | $26,000 |
| History | $33,586 | $52,584 | $26,000 |
| International / Global Studies | $30,754 | $51,931 | $25,125 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $31,452 | $51,610 | $27,000 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $40,085 | $51,599 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $30,054 | $50,582 | $26,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $35,205 | $50,536 | $34,372 |
| Sociology | $33,427 | $47,631 | $26,000 |
| Philosophy | $28,648 | $47,414 | $25,000 |
| Anthropology | $30,261 | $43,793 | $26,000 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | $20,667 | $42,731 | $26,500 |
| Film and Photography | $24,345 | $42,526 | $25,000 |
| Studio Art | $22,108 | $42,126 | $26,000 |
| Music | $19,507 | $40,387 | $24,000 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $26,260 | $39,449 | $27,000 |
| Theatre | $19,269 | $36,994 | $26,000 |
| Dance | not reported | $36,524 | $27,000 |
| Plant Sciences | not reported | $35,728 | not reported |
| City / Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Landscape Architecture | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | $25,028 |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Genetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | $60,765 | not reported | $26,816 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | $86,109 | not reported | $28,185 |
| Historic Preservation and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | $45,910 | not reported | $31,000 |
| Computational Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Materials Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | $29,950 | not reported | $25,998 |
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Public Relations and Advertising → Public relations specialist: median wage $64,550 (Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD), $57,460 (PA), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage $79,420 (Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD), $68,760 (PA), $78,760 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
