# SUNY College of Technology at Alfred

Public college in Alfred, NY. IPEDS ID 196006. Bachelor's & associate degrees (35% of undergraduate awards are bachelor's, 2023-24).
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/suny-college-of-technology-at-alfred · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/suny-college-of-technology-at-alfred.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 76% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $15,016 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 35% of NY colleges and 52% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $50,445; beats 27% of NY colleges and 42% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,628 |
| 30-48k | $11,197 |
| 48-75k | $15,721 |
| 75-110k | $16,911 |
| 110k+ | $21,778 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.44 years on average (28% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $50,445 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,628 | $42,748 | 2.7 years |
| 30-48k | $11,197 | $49,715 | 3.1 years |
| 48-75k | $15,721 | $69,801 | 4.4 years |
| 75-110k | $16,911 | $75,085 | 4.7 years |
| 110k+ | $21,778 | $96,694 | 6.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,385 in-state; about $33,330 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,892 in-state, $16,837 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $14,180; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 500–600; SAT math: 490–600; ACT: 20–24 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 7,839 applicants, 6,408 admitted, 1,256 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 76%, ACT 20–24 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 82%, ACT 16–23 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (32 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $77,300 | $88,810 | $26,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $60,968 | $80,450 | $27,000 |
| Construction Management | $55,851 | $74,870 | $25,000 |
| Architectural Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $46,044 | $66,462 | $27,000 |
| Architecture | $49,192 | $64,658 | $31,000 |
| Information Technology | $48,786 | $64,011 | $24,625 |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | $39,202 | $58,323 | $26,000 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | $56,643 | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | $54,833 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $44,389 | $51,988 | $24,500 |
| Human Resources | $33,658 | $42,923 | $29,122 |
| Graphic Communications | $21,373 | $35,521 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Programming | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electromechanical Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage not reported (metro), $109,440 (NY), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $112,250 (NY), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
