# SUNY College at Potsdam

Public college in Potsdam, NY. IPEDS ID 196200.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/suny-college-at-potsdam · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/suny-college-at-potsdam.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 78% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,624 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 45%; beats 24% of NY colleges and 33% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $47,866; beats 24% of NY colleges and 34% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $18,166

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,623 |
| 30-48k | $8,684 |
| 48-75k | $14,524 |
| 75-110k | $15,513 |
| 110k+ | $20,041 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.34 years on average (34% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $47,866 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,623 | $37,424 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $8,684 | $37,689 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $14,524 | $63,034 | 4.8 years |
| 75-110k | $15,513 | $67,326 | 5.1 years |
| 110k+ | $20,041 | $86,978 | 6.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,083 in-state; about $34,993 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,768 in-state, $18,678 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $15,084; books: $950

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 3,905 applicants, 3,338 admitted, 430 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 78%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 86%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (44 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | $62,004 | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $45,110 | $57,949 | $27,000 |
| Business Administration | $36,555 | $57,066 | $26,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,487 | $53,834 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $35,950 | $53,597 | $25,999 |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | $36,899 | $52,583 | $27,000 |
| Sociology | $36,500 | $51,086 | $26,000 |
| Health Sciences | $29,455 | $50,659 | $27,000 |
| Biology | $25,459 | $49,725 | $25,000 |
| English | not reported | $48,920 | $30,000 |
| Psychology | $27,825 | $48,601 | $26,525 |
| History | not reported | $45,234 | $26,500 |
| Communications | $34,933 | $43,686 | $26,001 |
| Writing | $20,455 | $38,562 | $27,000 |
| Music | $23,902 | $36,677 | $27,000 |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | $33,743 | $27,000 |
| Theatre | $22,873 | $33,581 | $26,208 |
| Studio Art | $22,964 | $30,688 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $27,586 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | $24,028 |
| Natural Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Archeology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | $24,094 | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage not reported (metro), $112,250 (NY), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage not reported (metro), $81,250 (NY), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
