# SUNY Buffalo State University

Public college in Buffalo, NY. IPEDS ID 196130.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/suny-buffalo-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/suny-buffalo-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 73% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $11,346 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 33%; beats 16% of NY colleges and 16% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $52,334; beats 29% of NY colleges and 47% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,405 |
| 30-48k | $9,393 |
| 48-75k | $14,706 |
| 75-110k | $17,155 |
| 110k+ | $19,332 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.37 years on average (25% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $52,334 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,405 | $32,360 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $9,393 | $41,047 | 2.3 years |
| 48-75k | $14,706 | $64,265 | 3.6 years |
| 75-110k | $17,155 | $74,967 | 4.2 years |
| 110k+ | $19,332 | $84,481 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $24,279 in-state; about $35,399 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,533 in-state, $19,653 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $16,716; books: $1,052

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 490–630; SAT math: 490–610; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 15,943 applicants, 12,096 admitted, 1,456 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 73%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 76%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (69 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | $48,355 | $98,018 | $29,500 |
| Electrical / Electronic Engineering Technologies / Technicians | $71,894 | $82,242 | $28,000 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies / Technicians | $57,431 | $73,327 | $24,436 |
| Information Science / Studies | $49,686 | $64,628 | $25,651 |
| Educational Administration and Supervision | not reported | $64,059 | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | $61,262 | $24,373 |
| Dietetics | $46,519 | $60,937 | $34,940 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | $59,096 | not reported |
| Economics | $41,547 | $58,497 | $26,000 |
| Political Science | $35,158 | $58,041 | $26,875 |
| Business Administration | $38,283 | $57,114 | $25,000 |
| Special Education | $16,737 | $57,096 | $22,610 |
| Criminal Justice | $34,042 | $56,034 | $25,000 |
| History | $35,822 | $54,561 | $25,394 |
| Social Work | $39,695 | $53,130 | $23,312 |
| Psychology | $32,994 | $52,490 | $26,528 |
| Communications | $26,344 | $51,379 | $25,000 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $36,654 | $51,209 | $26,999 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $34,646 | $49,853 | $25,000 |
| Sociology | $28,676 | $49,595 | $26,000 |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | $30,049 | $49,500 | $23,405 |
| Biology | $33,444 | $48,735 | $25,500 |
| Hospitality Management | $31,629 | $48,267 | $19,500 |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | $28,180 | $47,880 | $25,375 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $32,082 | $46,705 | $27,000 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | not reported | $46,224 | not reported |
| Studio Art | $24,041 | $45,222 | $23,000 |
| Audiovisual Communications Technologies / Technicians | $24,687 | $45,120 | $25,469 |
| Theatre | $19,608 | $39,863 | $21,810 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Curriculum and Instruction | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Educational / Instructional Media Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Energy Systems Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Apparel and Textiles | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | $20,250 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Museology / Museum Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography and Environmental Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Woodworking | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Crafts / Craft Design, Folk Art and Artisanry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Film and Photography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Human Resources | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $84,710 (Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY), $112,250 (NY), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Education (Subject Teaching) → High school teacher: median wage $79,280 (Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY), $97,070 (NY), $72,040 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
