# Southwest Baptist University

Private nonprofit college in Bolivar, MO. IPEDS ID 179326.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southwest-baptist-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/southwest-baptist-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 68% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $21,677 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 55%; beats 54% of MO colleges and 53% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $43,112; beats 33% of MO colleges and 20% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,000

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $21,978 |
| 30-48k | $17,947 |
| 48-75k | $19,633 |
| 75-110k | $22,016 |
| 110k+ | $23,857 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.23 years on average (51% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $43,112 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MO (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $21,978 | $92,967 | 12.1 years |
| 30-48k | $17,947 | $75,916 | 9.9 years |
| 48-75k | $19,633 | $83,048 | 10.8 years |
| 75-110k | $22,016 | $93,128 | 12.1 years |
| 110k+ | $23,857 | $100,915 | 13.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $40,301
- Tuition and fees: $30,566
- Housing and meals: $8,952; books: $1,500

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 430–610; SAT math: 380–600; ACT: 17–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 1,057 applicants, 1,054 admitted, 270 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 68%, ACT 17–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 100%, ACT 18–24 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (43 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $69,273 | $78,525 | $29,171 |
| Computer Science | not reported | $62,016 | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,837 | $58,770 | $19,550 |
| Business Administration | not reported | $56,182 | not reported |
| Psychology | $30,870 | $43,058 | $26,348 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $35,507 | $41,618 | $25,762 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $27,348 | $36,697 | $21,250 |
| Communications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English Language and Literature / Letters, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bible Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Missions / Missionary Studies and Missiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Music and Worship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theology / Ministry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Work | not reported | not reported | $26,000 |
| Political Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | $38,801 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Finance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Marketing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $79,370 (Springfield, MO), $81,780 (MO), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher: median wage $49,380 (Springfield, MO), $50,910 (MO), $63,970 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
