# Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO)

Public college in New Orleans, LA. IPEDS ID 160630.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southern-university-at-new-orleans · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/southern-university-at-new-orleans.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 79% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $14,810 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 13%; beats 4% of LA colleges and 2% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $34,042; beats 4% of LA colleges and 4% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,771 |
| 30-48k | not reported |
| 48-75k | not reported |
| 75-110k | $19,360 |
| 110k+ | not reported |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.69 years on average (8% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $34,042 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,771 | $69,276 | more than 20 years |
| 30-48k | not reported | not reported | not available |
| 48-75k | not reported | not reported | not available |
| 75-110k | $19,360 | $90,798 | more than 20 years |
| 110k+ | not reported | not reported | not available |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $23,905 in-state; about $32,805 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $8,054 in-state, $16,954 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,340; books: $1,300

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 410–540; SAT math: 410–510; ACT: 15–20 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 2,920 applicants, 1,758 admitted, 154 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 79%, ACT 15–20 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 60%, ACT 14–18 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (20 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social Work | not reported | $49,709 | $42,000 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | $33,687 | $47,390 | $56,000 |
| Health Administration | not reported | $44,788 | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | $33,494 | $44,723 | $45,149 |
| Biology | not reported | $44,350 | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $25,777 | $44,226 | $55,541 |
| Business Administration | $40,173 | $42,068 | $38,319 |
| Psychology | not reported | $39,139 | $47,500 |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | not reported | not reported | $54,647 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nursing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $48,970 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $48,380 (LA), $76,210 (U.S.)
- Social Work → Social worker: median wage $59,940 (New Orleans-Metairie, LA), $56,800 (LA), $59,550 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
