# Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Public college in Slippery Rock, PA. IPEDS ID 216038.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/slippery-rock-university-of-pennsylvania · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/slippery-rock-university-of-pennsylvania.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 72% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $19,608 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 66%; beats 60% of PA colleges and 71% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $53,032; beats 27% of PA colleges and 49% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,555 |
| 30-48k | $13,401 |
| 48-75k | $16,990 |
| 75-110k | $21,972 |
| 110k+ | $24,121 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.23 years on average (53% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $53,032 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,555 | $53,108 | 3.1 years |
| 30-48k | $13,401 | $56,686 | 3.3 years |
| 48-75k | $16,990 | $71,868 | 4.2 years |
| 75-110k | $21,972 | $92,942 | 5.4 years |
| 110k+ | $24,121 | $102,032 | 5.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $25,537 in-state; about $29,645 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,568 in-state, $14,676 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $10,584; books: $1,992

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 500–610; SAT math: 480–580; ACT: 18–26 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,119 applicants, 4,566 admitted, 1,537 enrolled; test scores required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 72%, ACT 18–26 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 75%, ACT 19–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

### Common Data Set 2025-26 (Fall 2025)
- Very important: none; important: rigor, class rank, gpa, test scores; considered: essay, recommendations, talent
- Early decision: no; early action: no; waitlist: no
- Average high school GPA of enrolled first-years: 3.58
- Aid (full-time first-years): average 71.7% of need met; 145 of 884 with need fully met; merit aid to students without need: 441 students, average $2,086
- Source: https://www.sru.edu/documents/offices/analytics-decision-support/CDS_2025-2026_SRU.pdf

## Majors (47 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $79,156 | $86,557 | $27,849 |
| Quality Control and Safety Technologies / Technicians | $67,072 | $84,783 | $25,000 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $59,430 | $78,096 | $25,000 |
| Information Science / Studies | $49,369 | $71,672 | $25,250 |
| Economics | not reported | $69,371 | not reported |
| Accounting | $46,359 | $63,186 | $23,590 |
| Health Sciences | $27,347 | $63,001 | $27,000 |
| Finance | $49,248 | $62,805 | $22,609 |
| Geography | not reported | $62,659 | not reported |
| Marketing | $44,207 | $61,322 | $25,346 |
| Public Health | $42,605 | $60,530 | $26,998 |
| Homeland Security | $31,685 | $60,458 | $26,000 |
| Criminology | $36,276 | $58,115 | $25,990 |
| Mathematics | $47,277 | $57,744 | $26,500 |
| Business Administration | $40,819 | $56,810 | $25,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | $41,094 | $56,402 | $27,937 |
| Political Science | $29,186 | $55,548 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $33,206 | $55,033 | $27,000 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $39,290 | $53,516 | $27,000 |
| Communications | $35,840 | $52,762 | $26,000 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | $41,797 | $52,743 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $35,411 | $50,048 | $27,000 |
| English | $34,205 | $50,034 | $27,000 |
| Special Education | $43,480 | $48,796 | $27,000 |
| History | $34,682 | $48,589 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $32,780 | $47,654 | $26,960 |
| Social Work | $32,316 | $46,974 | $27,000 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | $31,955 | $46,176 | $26,264 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $37,966 | $45,605 | $27,000 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | $32,065 | $44,304 | $26,000 |
| Dance | $19,681 | $40,797 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | not reported | $37,922 | $28,850 |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Petroleum Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | $25,869 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Chemistry | $36,597 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Criminal Justice | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | $33,169 | not reported | not reported |
| Music | $37,660 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $55,910 (Pittsburgh, PA), $57,460 (PA), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Public Health → Health education specialist: median wage $75,480 (Pittsburgh, PA), $80,670 (PA), $64,070 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
