# Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania (SU)

Public college in Shippensburg, PA. IPEDS ID 216010.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/shippensburg-university-of-pennsylvania · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/shippensburg-university-of-pennsylvania.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 87% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $23,726 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 56%; beats 38% of PA colleges and 54% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $56,351; beats 36% of PA colleges and 60% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,192

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,709 |
| 30-48k | $18,515 |
| 48-75k | $21,386 |
| 75-110k | $25,469 |
| 110k+ | $28,387 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.34 years on average (36% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $56,351 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,709 | $81,197 | 4.0 years |
| 30-48k | $18,515 | $80,355 | 3.9 years |
| 48-75k | $21,386 | $92,815 | 4.5 years |
| 75-110k | $25,469 | $110,535 | 5.4 years |
| 110k+ | $28,387 | $123,200 | 6.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $30,785 in-state; about $33,039 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $13,720 in-state, $15,974 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $12,952; books: $1,200

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: 16–28 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 6,545 applicants, 5,599 admitted, 1,097 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 87%, ACT 16–28 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 86%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (41 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physics | not reported | $91,610 | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | $80,574 | $90,384 | $27,000 |
| Management Information Systems | $51,195 | $73,570 | $26,900 |
| Finance | $47,651 | $71,432 | $26,000 |
| Accounting | $58,049 | $70,459 | $26,949 |
| Mathematics | $48,772 | $69,153 | $26,483 |
| Business Administration | $49,677 | $68,919 | $25,919 |
| Entrepreneurship | $42,830 | $67,926 | $24,000 |
| Marketing | $46,617 | $64,955 | $26,000 |
| Biology | $37,665 | $62,124 | $27,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $39,068 | $57,130 | $24,125 |
| Criminal Justice | $41,143 | $56,376 | $26,000 |
| Political Science | $34,271 | $55,295 | $27,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $30,616 | $54,330 | $26,000 |
| History | $34,460 | $52,310 | $27,000 |
| Psychology | $33,680 | $51,607 | $26,000 |
| Special Education | $49,835 | $50,069 | $28,500 |
| Social Work | $37,206 | $49,794 | $26,982 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $47,319 | $49,039 | $26,435 |
| Sociology | not reported | $47,841 | $27,250 |
| Journalism | $32,294 | $47,760 | $26,000 |
| Writing | $37,446 | $43,607 | $27,000 |
| English | $28,924 | $41,226 | $27,000 |
| Studio Art | $25,269 | $39,127 | $28,500 |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $74,598 | not reported | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | $30,124 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | $27,000 |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $79,930 (Harrisburg-Carlisle, PA), $93,830 (PA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage $71,500 (Harrisburg-Carlisle, PA), $68,760 (PA), $78,760 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
