# Seattle University

Private nonprofit college in Seattle, WA. IPEDS ID 236595.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/seattle-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/seattle-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 77% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $34,662 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 76%; beats 94% of WA colleges and 86% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $75,272; beats 92% of WA colleges and 90% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $16,658

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,896 |
| 30-48k | $24,523 |
| 48-75k | $26,977 |
| 75-110k | $36,967 |
| 110k+ | $42,737 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.12 years on average (66% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $75,272 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $40,219 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $22,896 | $94,332 | 2.7 years |
| 30-48k | $24,523 | $101,035 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $26,977 | $111,145 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $36,967 | $152,304 | 4.3 years |
| 110k+ | $42,737 | $176,076 | 5.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $72,124
- Tuition and fees: $56,721
- Housing and meals: $14,748; books: $762

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 620–710; SAT math: 580–720; ACT: 23–30 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 8,976 applicants, 6,826 admitted, 1,049 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 77%, ACT 23–30 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 76%, ACT 23–30 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (64 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $85,285 | $128,314 | $24,980 |
| Electrical Engineering | $79,073 | $111,410 | $25,000 |
| Business Economics | not reported | $102,249 | not reported |
| Finance | $55,823 | $99,791 | $24,000 |
| Accounting | $70,570 | $97,466 | $23,734 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $67,851 | $96,218 | $20,467 |
| Nursing | $81,021 | $90,918 | $25,000 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | $88,308 | not reported |
| Civil Engineering | $69,151 | $81,559 | $24,000 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $102,664 | $81,464 | $27,775 |
| Mathematics | $57,551 | $80,592 | $23,281 |
| English | not reported | $78,906 | $19,750 |
| Criminal Justice | $51,100 | $74,018 | $21,247 |
| Marketing | $44,714 | $72,518 | $20,750 |
| Business Administration | $46,598 | $72,360 | $22,979 |
| International Business | not reported | $69,201 | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $35,398 | $64,098 | $23,500 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | not reported | $63,465 | $20,250 |
| Political Science | $41,474 | $63,443 | $20,449 |
| Film and Photography | $30,256 | $62,385 | $24,583 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $33,821 | $61,021 | $18,250 |
| Writing | $32,663 | $60,291 | $24,500 |
| Biology | $37,063 | $58,242 | $22,417 |
| Psychology | $37,452 | $57,993 | $19,500 |
| Communications | $39,316 | $57,599 | $19,500 |
| Social Work | not reported | $57,349 | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $28,082 | $57,093 | $23,319 |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | $56,590 | $20,500 |
| Security / Homeland Security | $37,557 | $56,265 | $20,750 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | $53,117 | $23,792 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cell / Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physiology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $31,627 | not reported | $17,494 |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology and Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Visual and Performing Arts | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts and Entertainment Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | $63,496 | not reported | $22,332 |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Nursing → Registered nurse: median wage $128,260 (Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA), $124,200 (WA), $97,550 (U.S.)
- Finance → Financial analyst: median wage $124,790 (Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA), $107,210 (WA), $102,740 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
