# San Francisco State University

Public college in San Francisco, CA. IPEDS ID 122597.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/san-francisco-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/san-francisco-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 96% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $12,278 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 50%; beats 29% of CA colleges and 43% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $68,077; beats 62% of CA colleges and 83% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $12,923

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,341 |
| 30-48k | $9,867 |
| 48-75k | $11,825 |
| 75-110k | $14,556 |
| 110k+ | $22,523 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $26,488 in-state; about $39,088 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $7,950 in-state, $20,550 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $17,955; books: $1,099

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: not reported; SAT math: not reported; ACT: not reported (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 29,878 applicants, 28,727 admitted, 2,985 enrolled; test scores not considered
- Fall 2024: acceptance 96%, ACT not reported (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 96%, ACT not reported (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (84 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | $117,532 | $150,102 | $16,875 |
| Electrical Engineering | $67,345 | $112,454 | $16,125 |
| Computer Science | $50,553 | $105,166 | $16,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $72,647 | $102,104 | $22,047 |
| Computer Engineering | $53,180 | $94,129 | $20,148 |
| Civil Engineering | $68,256 | $90,894 | $18,873 |
| Computer and Information Sciences | $52,288 | $86,425 | $19,716 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | $56,071 | $85,037 | $24,120 |
| Economics | $46,310 | $82,697 | $13,750 |
| Accounting | $60,607 | $81,587 | $11,971 |
| Finance | $62,778 | $78,310 | $14,440 |
| Biochemistry | not reported | $76,134 | $15,675 |
| International Business | $58,560 | $75,824 | $22,374 |
| Human Resources | $46,041 | $75,207 | not reported |
| Cell / Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | $40,794 | $74,482 | $19,000 |
| Biology | $36,259 | $74,204 | $15,000 |
| Business Administration | $48,184 | $73,775 | $15,000 |
| Marketing | $52,072 | $71,691 | $12,304 |
| Mathematics | $44,257 | $71,323 | $18,697 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | $27,296 | $70,532 | $19,250 |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | $50,008 | $70,207 | $18,600 |
| Social Work | $48,750 | $68,524 | $17,259 |
| Physiology | $36,707 | $68,440 | $17,480 |
| International Relations | $31,254 | $65,775 | $16,750 |
| Hospitality Management | $34,153 | $65,510 | $14,400 |
| Health Sciences | $47,367 | $65,252 | $18,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $42,211 | $63,764 | $13,518 |
| Communications | $40,790 | $63,731 | $15,000 |
| Geography | $24,875 | $63,590 | $13,768 |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | $25,242 | $62,623 | $15,250 |
| Sociology | $40,763 | $62,385 | $15,000 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $28,749 | $62,116 | $16,150 |
| Political Science | $36,502 | $61,915 | $17,000 |
| Nutrition Science | $30,620 | $61,895 | $17,137 |
| East Asian Languages (Chinese / Japanese / Korean) | $19,861 | $61,603 | $14,108 |
| Anthropology | $28,314 | $61,300 | $17,250 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $38,237 | $59,993 | $12,692 |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | $31,001 | $59,990 | $17,875 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $34,845 | $59,678 | $18,000 |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | $26,176 | $59,056 | $17,500 |
| Writing | $32,431 | $59,032 | $18,500 |
| History | $28,718 | $58,717 | $15,000 |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | $32,112 | $58,617 | $15,467 |
| Broadcasting / Digital Media | $28,753 | $58,550 | $17,683 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences / Human Sciences | $35,977 | $58,530 | $17,212 |
| Journalism | $31,788 | $57,260 | $16,875 |
| English | $32,339 | $56,297 | $17,243 |
| Psychology | $34,803 | $55,902 | $15,000 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | $28,427 | $55,212 | $16,797 |
| Apparel and Textiles | $30,082 | $53,575 | $20,000 |
| Linguistics | not reported | $48,959 | not reported |
| Film and Photography | $18,654 | $47,149 | $17,850 |
| Zoology / Animal Biology | $41,565 | $45,722 | $11,000 |
| Theatre | $23,004 | $44,848 | $16,250 |
| Dance | not reported | $44,627 | not reported |
| Philosophy | $28,539 | $42,993 | $18,000 |
| Studio Art | $24,606 | $42,868 | $18,511 |
| Music | $31,621 | $38,639 | $15,000 |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Special Education | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| German | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Botany / Plant Biology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $34,764 | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health-Related Knowledge and Skills | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Religious Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy and Religious Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physical Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | $44,140 | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Medical Laboratory Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pre-Med / Pre-Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Science / Analytics | $48,546 | not reported | $20,500 |

## Major to career
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $126,730 (San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA), $101,460 (CA), $101,860 (U.S.)
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $102,520 (San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA), $85,030 (CA), $74,750 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
