# Saint Cloud State University

Public college in Saint Cloud, MN. IPEDS ID 174783.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/saint-cloud-state-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/saint-cloud-state-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 95% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $13,529 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 40%; beats 6% of MN colleges and 26% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $55,813; beats 35% of MN colleges and 58% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $14,362

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,909 |
| 30-48k | $9,871 |
| 48-75k | $12,034 |
| 75-110k | $14,781 |
| 110k+ | $18,989 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid, in-state. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.52 years on average (27% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $55,813 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,909 | $40,269 | 2.3 years |
| 30-48k | $9,871 | $44,617 | 2.5 years |
| 48-75k | $12,034 | $54,394 | 3.1 years |
| 75-110k | $14,781 | $66,810 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $18,989 | $85,830 | 4.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $21,116 in-state; about $21,116 out-of-state
- Tuition and fees: $10,245 in-state, $10,245 out-of-state
- Housing and meals: $9,630; books: $1,400

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 510–615; SAT math: 515–645; ACT: 17–25 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 5,026 applicants, 4,772 admitted, 897 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 95%, ACT 17–25 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 95%, ACT 18–25 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (74 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $77,792 | $107,133 | $27,000 |
| Computer Science | $63,287 | $103,765 | $27,360 |
| Electrical Engineering | $69,943 | $90,009 | $30,088 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $70,179 | $87,503 | $27,090 |
| Nursing | $74,111 | $84,470 | $29,000 |
| Information Technology | $56,987 | $80,331 | $25,250 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | $74,147 | $78,067 | $28,882 |
| Accounting | $58,497 | $76,080 | $27,175 |
| Marketing | $47,453 | $74,847 | $23,450 |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | $69,616 | $73,695 | $16,084 |
| Finance | $52,502 | $70,259 | $24,250 |
| Criminal Justice | $49,412 | $66,850 | $21,500 |
| Business Administration | $47,473 | $64,191 | $22,562 |
| Biology | $44,166 | $62,595 | $24,450 |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $43,555 | $59,549 | $26,000 |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | $42,002 | $59,483 | $26,752 |
| Speech-Language Pathology / Communication Disorders | not reported | $58,587 | $17,637 |
| Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology | not reported | $57,108 | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | $42,192 | $56,547 | $28,551 |
| Communications | $40,279 | $56,388 | $25,000 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | not reported | $54,302 | $27,000 |
| Social Work | $43,726 | $52,765 | $27,996 |
| Sociology | not reported | $52,455 | not reported |
| Psychology | $33,623 | $52,031 | $20,626 |
| Public Health | $32,830 | $50,932 | $17,850 |
| Psychology (Clinical / Counseling) | $42,406 | $49,922 | $24,948 |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | $43,279 | $48,923 | $30,795 |
| International Relations | not reported | $48,463 | $22,250 |
| Political Science | $28,991 | $48,305 | $22,908 |
| Special Education | $46,662 | $48,296 | $28,250 |
| Studio Art | $30,051 | $47,619 | $31,000 |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | $34,627 | $45,990 | not reported |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | $40,580 | $45,386 | $25,449 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $24,862 | $44,386 | $26,500 |
| English | $28,145 | $38,464 | $21,482 |
| Film and Photography | $26,332 | $35,421 | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic / Gender Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science / Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Manufacturing Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering-Related Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biotechnology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Statistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Science, Technology and Society | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology / Exercise Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology / Earth Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geography | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Urban Studies / Affairs | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Air Transportation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | $50,058 | not reported | $31,171 |
| Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business | $59,378 | not reported | not reported |
| Business Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurship | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Hospitality Management | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Real Estate | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Insurance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Communications → Public relations specialist: median wage $59,750 (St. Cloud, MN), $68,620 (MN), $74,750 (U.S.)
- Business Administration → Management analyst: median wage $94,590 (St. Cloud, MN), $100,790 (MN), $101,860 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
