# Roger Williams University (RWU)

Private nonprofit college in Bristol, RI. IPEDS ID 217518.
Source page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/roger-williams-university · Data: https://educationguide.com/data/colleges/roger-williams-university.json · Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score

## Key numbers
- Acceptance rate: 88% (Fall 2024, College Scorecard)
- Average net price after grants: $37,999 per year (AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25)
- Graduation rate (6 years): 69%; beats 33% of RI colleges and 76% nationwide
- Median earnings 10 years after starting: $70,266; beats 56% of RI colleges and 86% nationwide
- Median debt at graduation: $19,500

## Net price by family income (per year, after grants)
| Family income | Net price |
|---|---|
| 0-30k | $29,778 |
| 30-48k | $30,087 |
| 48-75k | $33,623 |
| 75-110k | $37,318 |
| 110k+ | $40,792 |

Average after grants for first-time, full-time students receiving federal aid. Negative values mean grants exceed cost.

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
Graduates took 4.09 years on average (62% finished in 4 years; Fall 2017 entrants, IPEDS). Earnings gain = $70,266 (median earnings of former students 10 years after starting college (College Scorecard)) minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in RI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $29,778 | $121,792 | 4.0 years |
| 30-48k | $30,087 | $123,056 | 4.0 years |
| 48-75k | $33,623 | $137,518 | 4.5 years |
| 75-110k | $37,318 | $152,631 | 5.0 years |
| 110k+ | $40,792 | $166,839 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sticker price
- Cost of attendance: $61,950
- Tuition and fees: $44,418
- Housing and meals: $16,690; books: $900

## Admissions
- SAT reading & writing: 580–660; SAT math: 560–650; ACT: 24–29 (25th–75th percentile, Fall 2024)
- Fall 2023: 8,238 applicants, 7,231 admitted, 1,022 enrolled; test scores considered but not required
- Fall 2024: acceptance 88%, ACT 24–29 (College Scorecard)
- Fall 2023: acceptance 88%, ACT 24–30 (IPEDS Admissions)

## Majors (71 bachelor's majors)
| Major | Earnings 1 yr | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting | $66,780 | $98,701 | $26,873 |
| Finance | $60,042 | $94,919 | $26,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $65,396 | $94,385 | $27,000 |
| Construction Management | $75,334 | $93,340 | $26,000 |
| Civil Engineering | not reported | $90,146 | not reported |
| Business Administration | $46,991 | $76,219 | $21,553 |
| Marketing | $44,506 | $71,989 | $26,698 |
| Biology | $47,799 | $71,652 | $27,000 |
| Criminal Justice | $45,356 | $70,747 | $26,000 |
| Communications | $33,596 | $70,575 | $26,000 |
| International Business | $49,209 | $67,621 | $26,494 |
| Legal Professions and Studies, Other | $40,424 | $66,230 | $27,000 |
| Architecture | $36,750 | $65,092 | $27,000 |
| Political Science | $37,327 | $63,405 | $27,000 |
| Graphic Communications | not reported | $61,887 | not reported |
| Psychology | $32,289 | $57,212 | $27,000 |
| Legal Support Services | $51,445 | $56,566 | $19,619 |
| Education (Elementary / Secondary) | not reported | $52,114 | $27,000 |
| Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | $29,074 | $51,857 | $27,000 |
| Agricultural Production Operations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Environmental Science / Conservation | $39,869 | not reported | $26,000 |
| Architectural History, Criticism, and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Architectural Sciences and Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Journalism | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Relations and Advertising | $45,269 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Computer Science | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Software and Media Applications | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Technology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education (Subject Teaching) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical Engineering | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Industrial Production Technologies / Technicians | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Construction Engineering Technology / Technician | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Linguistics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Spanish / French / Romance Languages | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Classics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Legal Studies / Paralegal | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Writing | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts / General Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biochemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Historic Preservation and Conservation | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International / Global Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cultural Studies / Critical Theory and Analysis | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sustainability Studies | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Philosophy | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Physics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Security / Homeland Security | not reported | not reported | $25,000 |
| Public Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Social Sciences | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Sociology and Anthropology | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design | not reported | not reported | $26,445 |
| Theatre | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Studio Art | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health Administration | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Health | $39,912 | not reported | $27,000 |
| Management Information Systems | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| History | not reported | not reported | not reported |

## Major to career
- Criminal Justice → Police officer: median wage $76,850 (Providence-Warwick, RI-MA), $77,230 (RI), $76,210 (U.S.)
- Marketing → Marketing specialist: median wage $83,960 (Providence-Warwick, RI-MA), $86,240 (RI), $78,760 (U.S.)

## Sources and years
- Net price: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; cost of attendance: AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; tuition: AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25
- Graduation: Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25; earnings: Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars; debt: NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts
- Major earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
